Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Protein · Answer

How much does whey protein cost in South Africa?

Whey protein in South Africa costs about R285 to R770 per kg for local whey blend tubs, R800 to R1 000 per kg for single-ingredient concentrate, R930 to R1 860 per kg for isolate, and R860 to R1 300 per kg for imports such as Optimum Nutrition, Myprotein and MuscleTech (October 2026). A single scoop typically costs R12 to R30 for local blends and about R38 to R39 for imports.

· 3 min read

Prices below are per kilogram of powder, from listings checked in October 2026 (brand shops, Dis-Chem Living Fit, Clicks and Takealot via PriceCheck). They include 15% VAT.

TypeExamplesTypical price per kg
Entry-level blendsBlack Bull Whey Supreme 908 g (R259 to R319), Nutritech Heavy Duty 908 g (R329)R285 to R365
Mainstream local wheyUSN Hardcore gH 1 kg (R449), NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490), USN BlueLab 1 kg (R689), Evox Advanced 908 g (R670)R450 to R740
Premium local wheyNPL Platinum 908 g (R700), Biogen Rage Impact 750 g (R525)R700 to R770
IsolatePrimal 750 g (R700), USN Isozero 805 g (R899), NPL 700 g (R900), ATP 800 g (R900 to R1 050), Biogen 700 g (R1 300)R930 to R1 860
ImportsOptimum Nutrition Gold Standard 900 g (R1 150), Myprotein Impact 1 kg (R1 300), MuscleTech Nitro-Tech 2.27 kg (R1 950 to R2 150)R860 to R1 300
Single-ingredient concentrateATP Unflavoured Concentrate 1 kg (R800), Lifestyle Food 500 g (R500)R800 to R1 000

What does one serving cost?

Per scoop, local blends run about R12 (USN Hydrotech) to R30 (Biogen Rage Impact) and imports about R38 to R39. In protein terms: USN BlueLab costs about R28 per 30 g protein, an imported Optimum Nutrition tub about R47 (using the 29.4 g scoop on ON's UK site). See whey per 30 g of protein compared.

Why is whey expensive in South Africa?

Whey is a dairy ingredient traded globally, so the rand exchange rate, freight and import costs move shelf prices. Women24 reported in August 2023 that Dis-Chem estimated whey prices had risen by at least 50% after 2020, and USN estimated they had roughly doubled, before prices began easing. We cannot tell which product the 2023 figures referred to, and October 2026 shelf prices vary by brand, so check current listings.

Where is whey cheapest?

The biggest gaps are between retailers. ATP's Unflavoured Concentrate is R800 in its own shop but R639 on Takealot; USN's plant protein is R399 on Takealot but R474.99 at Dis-Chem (PriceCheck snapshots, undated). Brand shops and Dis-Chem usually match each other to within a few rand. See the cheapest whey per serving and Dis-Chem vs Takealot.

How do you avoid overpaying?

  • Compare rand per 30 g of protein, not per tub.
  • Choose concentrate unless you are lactose-sensitive: isolate typically costs 35% to 50% more for the same muscle result (isolate vs concentrate).
  • Do not pay a premium for an imported label unless you want that specific product.

Do you need to see a doctor first?

If you have kidney disease, a milk allergy or are under 18, ask a doctor or dietitian whether whey suits you.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderSweeteners
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R28.03R68.90not stated
USN Hardcore Whey gH (1 kg)1 kgR449 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R16.46R44.90not stated
NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg)1 kgR490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10)25R23.52R49.00sucralose
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g)900 gR1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)——R127.78not stated
Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R50.87R130.00sucralose
ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate1 kgR800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)——R80.00None

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.