Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Protein · Answer

What is the best budget whey protein in South Africa?

The best budget whey in South Africa is the one that is cheap per 30 g of protein, not per tub. Among tubs that publish their numbers, USN Hydrotech (R369 to R417.99 for 900 g, about R18 to R21 per 30 g protein) and NPL Platinum Whey Plus (R490 per kg, about R23.50) are cheapest, but both are blends with non-whey protein (October 2026).

· 3 min read

Cheap tubs tempt you with the lowest sticker price, but the number that matters is rand per 30 g of protein. Many bargain tubs do not publish protein per scoop, so you cannot calculate it. All prices are October 2026.

Which budget wheys publish enough to compare?

ProductPriceProtein per servingR per 30 g proteinWhat to know
USN Hydrotech, 900 gR369 to R417.99 (USN shop)20 g per 30 gabout R18.50 to R21whey-wheat protein blend
NPL Platinum Whey Plus, 1 kgR490 (NPL shop)25 g per 40 gabout R23.50includes pea, rice and egg protein; sucralose
NPL Anabolic Whey, 908 gR480 (NPL shop)27.6 g per 43 gabout R24.70contains soy and pea protein
USN BlueLab 100% Whey, 1 kgR689 (USN shop)23.6 g per 32 gabout R28the best-value tub of mainly whey with clear data

USN Hardcore Whey gH (1 kg, R449) lists 27 g protein per 33 g scoop, about R16.50 per 30 g protein. That is 82% protein by weight alongside added creatine and other actives (USN's own page also shows an inconsistent 57 g double-serving figure), so verify against the label PDF before trusting it.

What about the very cheapest tubs?

Black Bull Whey Supreme (908 g, R259 to R319 at Clicks via PriceCheck), Nutritech Heavy Duty Whey (908 g, R329 at Clicks) and Amazonia Pure Whey (900 g, R195 on Takealot) are the lowest-priced tubs we found. None publishes protein per serving or whey type in the sources we checked, so we cannot calculate their cost per gram of protein. That is itself a warning sign.

What should you watch for in bargain whey?

  • Low protein per scoop. A University of Pretoria study of 70 SA protein products found 21 held more than 10% less protein than labelled, and five held 42% to 80% less (brands not named).
  • Amino spiking. Cheap nitrogen sources (glycine, taurine, creatine) can inflate a "protein" figure. A separate SA study found 9 of 15 best-selling wheys failed draft amino-acid criteria. See what amino spiking is.
  • Blends. "Whey" blends may contain soy, wheat, pea or egg protein.

How do you buy cheap but safely?

  1. Read the nutrition table per 100 g and per serving; protein should be roughly 60% to 75% for a blend.
  2. Check the ingredient list for added free amino acids.
  3. Prefer products that publish a label with a South African importer or manufacturer address and a batch number (required by R146).
  4. Compare Takealot, Clicks and brand shops: the same tub can differ by more than 10%.

Compare more in the cheapest whey per serving and best whey protein.

Safety

Budget whey is still milk protein. If you have kidney disease, a milk allergy, or are under 18, speak to a doctor or dietitian.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderSweeteners
USN Hydrotech Whey Protein (900 g)900 gR369-R417.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R20.50R45.55not stated
NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg)1 kgR490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10)25R23.52R49.00sucralose
NPL Anabolic Whey (908 g)908 gR480 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10)—R24.71R52.86sucralose
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R28.03R68.90not stated
USN Hardcore Whey gH (1 kg)1 kgR449 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R16.46R44.90not stated
Black Bull Whey Supreme Lean Muscle Protein (908 g)908 gR259-R319 (Clicks (via PriceCheck), 2026-10)——R32.93not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.