Per serving and per 30 g of protein can rank products differently, so we show both. Prices are October 2026; where retailers disagree by more than 10% we give a band.
How do the options compare?
| Product | Price | Serving | Protein per serving | R per serving | R per 30 g protein |
|---|
| USN Hardcore Whey gH, 1 kg | R449 | 33 g | 27 g (USN page; contains added creatine) | R14.82 | about R16.50 (verify label) |
| USN Hydrotech, 900 g | R369 to R417.99 | 30 g | 20 g | R12.30 to R13.93 | R18.45 to R20.90 |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus, 1 kg | R490 | 40 g | 25 g | R19.60 | R23.52 |
| NPL Anabolic Whey, 908 g | R480 | 43 g | 27.6 g | R22.73 | R24.71 |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey, 1 kg | R689 | 32 g | 23.6 g | R22.05 | R28.03 |
| Primal Whey Protein, 750 g | R539.99 to R739.99 | 30 g | 21 g | R21.60 to R29.60 | R30.86 to R42.29 |
| Evox 100% Whey Advanced, 908 g | R670 | not stated | 23 g | not computable | not computable |
| NPL Platinum Whey, 908 g | R700 | 32 g | 22.5 g | R24.67 | R32.89 |
| PVM Protein XTR, 800 g | R645 | 50 g | 37.5 g | R40.31 | R32.25 |
| Biogen Rage Impact Whey, 750 g | R525 | 43 g | 27 g | R30.10 | R33.44 |
Primal's range reflects a conflict: its product page showed R539.99 while the category listing showed R739.99, so check before buying. Evox's Dis-Chem page lists 23 g protein but no scoop weight, so we cannot calculate its cost per serving.
What is not in the table?
Black Bull (908 g, R259 to R319), Nutritech Heavy Duty (908 g, R329) and Amazonia (900 g, R195) are cheaper per tub, but none publishes protein per serving in the sources we checked, so we cannot rank them honestly.
What about isolate?
The cheapest isolate with usable data is USN Isozero (805 g, R899, about R25.70 per serving and R38.50 per 30 g protein). NPL's isolate is about R48.50. Primal Whey Isolate (750 g, R700) is the cheapest isolate tub, but its protein per serving is not readable in page text. For imports, Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard is R1 150 for 900 g, about R47 per 30 g protein using the 29.4 g scoop on ON's UK site, and Myprotein Impact is about R51.
Why is cheapest per serving not always cheapest per protein?
A bigger scoop with less protein lowers the sticker price per serving but not per gram of protein. Blends may also replace whey with cheaper wheat, soy, pea or egg protein: USN Hydrotech is a whey-wheat blend, and NPL's Platinum Whey Plus and Anabolic Whey include non-whey proteins. For a pure-whey picture see whey per 30 g protein compared.
How do you buy cheaper?
- Choose the largest tub you will finish before the expiry date.
- Compare Takealot, Clicks, Dis-Chem and the brand shop; gaps of 15% to 25% occur (for example USN BlueLab Plant at R399 on Takealot against R474.99 at Dis-Chem).
- Use best budget whey for the full checklist.
If you have kidney disease, a milk allergy or are under 18, speak to a doctor or dietitian before using whey.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN Hydrotech Whey Protein (900 g) | 900 g | R369-R417.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R20.50 | R45.55 | not stated |
| USN Hardcore Whey gH (1 kg) | 1 kg | R449 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R16.46 | R44.90 | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| Primal Whey Protein (750 g) | 750 g | R539.99-R739.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R42.29 | R98.67 | sucralose |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (908 g) | 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R30.80 | R73.79 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.