Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Protein · Answer

What is the best mass gainer in South Africa?

The cheapest mass gainers in South Africa are USN Mass Gainer gH (4 kg, R466, R11.65 per 100 g) and NPL Hyper Gain Mass (4 kg, R500), but the best one depends on protein and calories per serving: NPL gives 53.6 g protein and about 1 365 kcal for about R44 a serving. A homemade milk, oats and peanut-butter shake often does the same job for less (October 2026).

· 3 min read

A mass gainer is a high-calorie powder, mostly carbohydrate with some protein, that helps you reach a calorie surplus. It works only because it adds calories; food can do the same job. Prices are October 2026.

How do the main gainers compare?

ProductSize and priceServingProtein per servingCost per serving
USN Mass Gainer gH4 kg, R466300 gimage-only labelabout R35
NPL Hyper Gain Mass4 kg, R500350 g53.6 g (about 1 365 kcal, 255 g carbs)about R44
Evox Alpha 5XL4 kg, R540not clearly statednot clearnot computable
Primal Mass Gain4 kg, R550334 glabel missing on pageabout R46
Weider Mega Mass Gainer4 kg, R555not capturednot capturednot computable
Biogen Bulk 45/1504 kg, R600226 g45.3 g (150 g carbs)about R34
PVM Fusion Mass2.4 kg, R96075 g33 g (12.1 g sugar)about R30
Optimum Nutrition Serious Mass5.4 kg, R1 9252 rounded scoops50 g (about 1 250 kcal)not computable

Cost per 100 g: USN R11.65, NPL R12.50, Evox R13.50, Primal R13.75, Weider R13.87, Biogen R15.00, PVM R40.00, Optimum Nutrition R35.65.

NPL's serving (350 g) costs about R44 and delivers around 1 365 kcal, roughly R32 per 1 000 kcal. Most other brands do not publish calories in page text, so we cannot compute R per 1 000 kcal for them.

What is in a gainer?

Mostly maltodextrin and other carbohydrates, plus whey or blends, some fat and sweeteners (sucralose and acesulfame-K in USN's gainer). Biogen Bulk 45/150 is stated stimulant-free and Informed Choice on the brand page (register not checked).

What is a cheaper homemade alternative?

Blend 500 ml full-cream milk or maas, 60 to 80 g oats, a banana, 2 tablespoons of peanut butter and, if you like, one scoop of whey. That is roughly 800 to 1 000 kcal (our estimate; check labels) and adds real food. A modest surplus of 300 to 500 kcal a day limits fat gain, so a full gainer serving is often more than you need.

What are the risks?

  • Fat gain and sugar. Excess calories become fat.
  • Heavy metals. Consumer Reports' 2025 US test found its highest lead level in a mass gainer (7.7 µg per serving); large serving sizes multiply exposure. That test was not of South African products.
  • Digestion. Large servings can cause bloating.
  • Teenagers. Food first and a dietitian's advice; gainers are not a meal replacement.
  • Diabetes or insulin resistance. Speak to your doctor first.

Who actually benefits?

"Hard gainers", people with high energy needs or a poor appetite, ideally with a dietitian's guidance. Total calories and training matter more than the product. See mass gainer vs whey, how to gain weight healthily and the best mass gainer comparison.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 100 g powderR per 30 g proteinSweeteners
USN Mass Gainer gH (4 kg)4 kgR466 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R11.65—sucralose, acesulfame-K
NPL Hyper Gain Mass (4 kg)4 kgR500 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R12.50R24.49sucralose
Biogen Bulk 45/150 Mass Gainer (4 kg)4 kgR600 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10)—R15.00R22.45not stated
Evox Alpha 5XL Mass Gainer (4 kg)4 kgR540 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R13.50—not stated
Primal Mass Gain (4 kg)4 kgR550 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R13.75—sucralose
Optimum Nutrition Serious Mass (5.4 kg)5.4 kgR1 925 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R35.65—not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.