Buy whey if your problem is protein. Buy a gainer only if your problem is calories and you cannot add them with food. A gainer works because it adds energy; the same surplus can be built from milk, oats, banana, peanut butter and a scoop of whey.
How do they compare on cost and content?
| Product | Price (October 2026) | Serving | Protein | Cost per serving |
|---|
| NPL Hyper Gain Mass 4 kg | R500 | 350 g (6 scoops), about 1 365 kcal | 53.6 g | R43.75 |
| Biogen Bulk 45/150 4 kg | R600 | 226 g | 45.3 g (150 g carbohydrate, 24.6 g sugar) | R33.90 |
| USN Mass Gainer gH 4 kg | R466 | 300 g | not readable in text | R34.95 |
| Primal Mass Gain 4 kg | R550 | 334 g | not published in text | R45.90 |
| Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg | R1 300 | 30 g scoop, 114 kcal | 23 g | R39.00 |
Per 100 kcal, the NPL gainer costs about R3.20 and Myprotein whey about R34. Gainers win clearly on energy cost, and at these prices they are not dearer per gram of protein either (NPL gainer about R0.82 per gram of protein, USN BlueLab whey about R0.93). The difference is what comes with it: a gainer's 53.6 g of protein sits inside 350 g of powder and over 1 300 kcal, mostly carbohydrate.
Which fits you?
- Hard gainers and young athletes with very high energy needs: a gainer can help, ideally under dietitian guidance. A surplus of about 300–500 kcal a day limits fat gain (see how to gain weight healthily).
- Anyone who already eats enough: whey, plus food.
- Cutting or maintaining: whey. A gainer's 1 000+ kcal serving can cancel a deficit.
- Under-18s: food first; seek a dietitian's advice.
What is the food-first version?
500 ml full-cream milk, 80 g oats, a banana, two tablespoons of peanut butter and one scoop of whey comes to roughly 1 000 kcal and about 55–60 g of protein, using standard food values (approximate; check your own labels). It costs what your groceries cost and carries less sugar than many gainers.
Are there safety concerns?
Large servings multiply anything unwanted. Consumer Reports' 2025 US testing found the highest lead of 23 products in a mass gainer, at 7.7 µg per serving; that is US data, not a South African finding, and no South African gainer was tested. Sugar and sweeteners vary: Biogen's serving carries 24.6 g of sugar, and PVM's Fusion Mass uses sucrose, fructose and cyclamate. Diabetes or insulin resistance needs medical advice.
How should you choose?
Read the best mass gainer for hardgainers, the best mass gainer ranking and the best whey protein page.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| NPL Hyper Gain Mass (4 kg) | 4 kg | R500 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R24.49 | R12.50 | sucralose |
| Biogen Bulk 45/150 Mass Gainer (4 kg) | 4 kg | R600 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10) | — | R22.45 | R15.00 | not stated |
| USN Mass Gainer gH (4 kg) | 4 kg | R466 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R11.65 | sucralose, acesulfame-K |
| Primal Mass Gain (4 kg) | 4 kg | R550 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R13.75 | sucralose |
| Optimum Nutrition Serious Mass (5.4 kg) | 5.4 kg | R1 925 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R35.65 | not stated |
| Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R50.87 | R130.00 | sucralose |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.