Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Protein · Answer

What are the best protein bars in South Africa?

The best-value protein bar with published numbers in South Africa is the NPL 21 Protein Bar (65 g, R41.99, 21 g protein, about R20 per 10 g protein), but it uses sucralose and sugar alcohols. Bars cost roughly two to three times more per gram of protein than whey, which is about R9 per 10 g with USN BlueLab (October 2026).

· 3 min read

Protein bars are convenient, not cheap protein. We compare what labels publish, mainly at Dis-Chem Living Fit and brand shops. Prices are October 2026.

How do the bars compare?

BarPriceProteinR per 10 g proteinSweeteners and notes
NPL 21 Protein Bar, 65 gR41.9921 gR20.00sucralose, sorbitol, maltitol and sugar; laxative warning
Biogen Iso Whey Premium Crunch Bar, 65 gR54.9922 gR25.00sweeteners not listed in page text; Informed Choice stated
USN Trust Crunch Bar, 60 g (12-pack R600)R50 per bar20 gR25.00sweeteners not listed
Myprotein Layered Protein Bar, 60 gR63.9920 gR32.00maltitol, chicory fibre, oligofructose; contains beef gelatin
Barebells Protein Bar, 55 gR57.99 to R61.99not readable on the pagenot computablemaltitol and sucralose; laxative warning
32Gi Premium Whey Protein Bar, 65 gR58.99not readablenot computablesorbitol, erythritol
Tony Ferguson Munch Bar, 55 gR27.99 to R34.99not readablenot computablesoy-based; maltitol, sorbitol

Dis-Chem Living Fit lists 31 protein bars in its online sports store. We did not verify Clicks or Checkers ranges.

How does that compare with whey?

USN BlueLab costs about R28 per 30 g protein, roughly R9 per 10 g. Bars are therefore about two to three times as expensive per gram of protein. A bar is paying for convenience, texture and coating.

What should you look for?

  1. Protein per bar. 20 g or more is typical for a "protein bar"; images-only labels are a minus.
  2. Sugar alcohols. Maltitol, sorbitol and erythritol can cause gas and diarrhoea, and retailers print laxative warnings on some bars.
  3. Protein source. Whey concentrate, soy isolate and collagen appear in some bars; collagen is incomplete protein and counts less toward muscle.
  4. Allergens. Milk, soy, nuts and gelatin are common.
  5. Calories. A bar is 200 to 300 kcal, so factor it into a cutting plan.

What are cheaper alternatives?

Biltong, boiled eggs, a tub of cottage cheese or a whey shake all deliver protein for less per gram. An unsweetened whey such as ATP Fitness (concentrate R800 per kg) avoids polyols entirely, though ATP does not publish protein per serving or third-party certification, and USN is a documented alternative.

Who should be careful?

People with irritable bowel syndrome or sugar-alcohol sensitivity, diabetes, kidney disease, milk or soy allergy, and under-18s should check with a doctor or dietitian before relying on bars.

Where next?

See how to read a supplement label, best whey protein and high-protein snacks.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderSweeteners
NPL 21 Protein Bar (65 g)65 gR41.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)1R59.99R64.60sucralose, sorbitol, maltitol and sugar (chocolate coating)
Biogen Iso Whey Premium Crunch Protein Bar (65 g)65 gR54.99 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10)1R74.99R84.60not stated
USN Trust Crunch Protein Bars (12 x 60 g)12 x 60 gR600 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)12R75.00R83.33not stated
Myprotein Layered Protein Bar (60 g)60 gR63.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)1R95.98R106.65maltitol (main), chicory fibre, oligofructose
Barebells Protein Bar (55 g)55 gR57.99-R61.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)1—R109.07maltitol and sucralose
32Gi Premium Whey Protein Bar (65 g)65 gR58.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)1—R90.75sorbitol, erythritol

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.