The honest answer is "best for what". Rankings here follow our published method: we compare declared protein per scoop, price per 30 g of protein, sweeteners and how much a brand actually publishes. All prices are from October 2026.
Which whey is best value per 30 g of protein?
| Product | Price (retailer) | Protein per serving | R per 30 g protein |
|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey, 1 kg | R689 (USN shop) | 23.6 g per 32 g | about R28 |
| Evox 100% Whey Advanced, 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 23 g (scoop weight not stated) | not computable |
| NPL Platinum Whey, 908 g | R700 (NPL shop) | 22.5 g per 32 g | about R33 |
| Biogen Rage Impact Whey, 750 g | R525 (Biogen shop) | 27 g per 43 g | about R33 |
| Myprotein Impact Whey, 1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 23 g per 30 g | about R51 |
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard, 900 g | R1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 24 g per 29.4 g scoop (ON UK site; SA label may differ) | about R47 |
Cheaper tubs exist (USN Hardcore Whey gH at R449 per kg, NPL Platinum Whey Plus at R490 per kg), but these are multi-source blends or have unusual label figures, so we do not rank them as "best whey". See the cheapest whey per serving.
Which whey is best for a clean label?
Most local wheys use sucralose (NPL, Primal, Biogen Complete Whey, Myprotein). ATP Fitness lists no sweeteners on any of its whey products: Unflavoured Concentrate is R800 per kg, Madagascan Vanilla Isolate R950 per 800 g, and Belgian Cocoa Isolate R950 per 800 g (shop.atpfit.co.za). The trade-offs are real: ATP does not publish protein per serving or any third-party certification, it launched in 2024, and flavour choice is narrow. A credible unsweetened alternative is Lifestyle Food Whey Concentrate Unflavoured (500 g, R500 at Dis-Chem Living Fit, 15.2 g protein per 20 g, about R39 per 30 g protein). More in the cleanest whey without sweeteners.
Which whey is best for purity?
For isolate, USN Isozero (805 g, R899 to R909.99) states 20 g protein per 23 g scoop, roughly 87% protein by weight, at about R38.50 per 30 g protein. Compare isolates in the best whey isolate, and read the isolate versus concentrate trade-off in our dedicated answer.
How reliable are SA protein labels?
Be a little sceptical of any tub that hides its nutrition table. A University of Pretoria study of 70 sports supplements found measured protein differed significantly from the label in 68.6%, and five products held 42% to 80% less protein than claimed. Brands were not named. USN and Biogen state Informed Choice certification on their product pages, but we have not checked the certifier register.
Should you buy imported whey?
Imported Optimum Nutrition costs roughly 1.6 to 3.5 times the price of local 908 g to 1 kg tubs per kilogram and offer no protein advantage per rand. Buy from a trusted retailer and check batch codes (how to spot fake whey).
Who should see a professional?
If you have kidney disease, a milk allergy, or are under 18, speak to a doctor or registered dietitian before using whey.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (908 g) | 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R30.80 | R73.79 | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey (908 g) | 908 g | R700 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R32.89 | R77.09 | sucralose |
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g) | 900 g | R1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R127.78 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R80.00 | None |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.