What is the best whey isolate in South Africa?
Isolate buyers want a high protein percentage, low lactose and a clean ingredient list. We compare what each brand publishes. Prices are October 2026.
| Isolate | Size and price | Protein per serving | Sweeteners | Price per 100 g powder |
|---|
| Primal Whey Isolate | 750 g, R700 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | not readable in page text | sucralose | R93 |
| USN Isozero | 805 g, R899 to R909.99 (USN shop) | 20 g per 23 g scoop | not named | R112 |
| ATP Unflavoured WPI | 800 g, R900 (ATP shop; Takealot R699, undated PriceCheck snapshot) | not published | none | R112.50 |
| ATP Madagascan Vanilla / Belgian Cocoa WPI | 800 g, R950 | not published | none | R118.75 |
| NPL 100% Whey Isolate | 700 g, R900 (NPL shop) | 19.9 g per 25 g | sucralose | R129 |
| ATP Grass-fed Vanilla WPI | 800 g, R1 050 | not published | none | R131.25 |
| Biogen Whey Isolate | 700 g, R1 300 (Biogen shop) | not readable | not named | R186 |
How do the isolates compare per 30 g of protein?
Only USN and NPL publish figures we can use. USN Isozero works out at about R38.50 per 30 g protein, NPL at about R48.50. Biogen's Iso Whey Premium (750 g, R765, 20.9 g per 30 g) is worth a note: its ingredient list includes concentrate, so we classify it as a blend, not a pure isolate. "Isolate" in a product name does not guarantee a pure isolate or an unsweetened one: NPL and Primal isolates both contain sucralose.
Why would you choose ATP Fitness isolate?
ATP lists 100% whey protein isolate with no sweeteners, with real Madagascan vanilla or Belgian cocoa as the only flavour. If you want to avoid sucralose, that is rare among local isolates. Honest trade-offs:
- ATP publishes no protein per serving and no third-party certification, so it cannot be ranked on protein value or recommended for drug-tested athletes who need batch-tested products.
- Per 100 g it costs about the same as USN Isozero (R112.50 vs R112), but USN publishes the protein density.
- It is a young brand (April 2024) with few flavours; the unflavoured tub was out of stock on the ATP shop on 27 October 2026.
- Takealot lists the unflavoured tub at R699 (PriceCheck snapshot), well below the shop price, so compare both.
A credible alternative is USN Isozero, which states Informed Choice batch testing on its page (we have not checked the register).
Do you need isolate at all?
Per gram of protein, isolate and concentrate build muscle equally well. Isolate suits people who are lactose-sensitive or cutting. If budget matters, read isolate vs concentrate, or see the best unflavoured whey isolate and the full best whey isolate comparison.
Safety note
Isolate is still milk protein. If you have a milk allergy, kidney disease or are under 18, check with a doctor or dietitian first.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| Primal Whey Isolate (750 g) | 750 g | R700 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R93.33 | sucralose |
| NPL 100% Whey Protein Isolate (700 g) | 700 g | R900 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R48.46 | R128.57 | sucralose |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R900 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R112.50 | None |
| ATP Fitness Madagascan Vanilla Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R950 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R118.75 | None |
| Biogen Whey Isolate (700 g) | 700 g | R1 300 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10) | — | — | R185.71 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.