Protein · Answer

Whey isolate vs concentrate: which is better in South Africa?

For most people in South Africa, whey concentrate is the better buy: it builds muscle just as well per gram of protein, while local isolates cost roughly 35% to 50% more per 30 g of protein. Isolate is worth the premium if you are lactose-sensitive or cutting. Isolate is typically 90% protein or more, with under about 1% lactose.

· 2 min read

Both are whey. Isolate is filtered further to remove more lactose and fat. Per gram of protein, muscle outcomes are essentially equivalent (ISSN position stand), so the real differences are protein density, lactose, taste and price.

What are the differences?

Whey concentrate (WPC80)Whey isolate (WPI)
Protein (dry basis, typical)about 70% to 80%90% or more
Lactose (typical)about 3% to 8%under about 1%
Texturecreamierthinner, lighter
Muscle effect per gram of proteinsamesame

These figures are industry typicals, not a South African legal standard; check each product's spec sheet.

How much more does isolate cost in rand?

Local pairs from the same brand (October 2026):

BrandConcentrate or blendIsolateExtra per 30 g protein
USNBlueLab 1 kg, R689, about R28Isozero 805 g, R899, about R38.50about R10 (roughly 37% more)
NPLPlatinum Whey 908 g, R700, about R33Whey Isolate 700 g, R900, about R48.50about R15.50 (roughly 47% more)
ATP FitnessUnflavoured Concentrate 1 kg, R800 per kgUnflavoured Isolate 800 g, R900, R1 125 per kgabout 41% more per kg of powder

ATP does not publish protein per serving, so we compare it per kilogram of powder only.

Who actually benefits from isolate?

  • Lactose-sensitive people. Isolate has far less lactose, but not zero. See whey and lactose intolerance.
  • People cutting calories. Isolate gives slightly more protein per scoop with less carbohydrate and fat.
  • Anyone who dislikes a heavy, creamy shake.

Concentrate suits budget-conscious users who tolerate lactose.

Does a "hydrolysed" or "isolate" label guarantee quality?

No. Biogen's Iso Whey Premium lists concentrate in its ingredients despite the name, and NPL and Primal isolates still contain sucralose. Read the ingredient list and nutrition table per 100 g: a true isolate sits around 85 to 90 g protein per 100 g, a concentrate around 70 to 80 g.

What is the practical decision?

  1. Tolerate dairy and want value: choose a concentrate (USN BlueLab, or ATP Unflavoured Concentrate if you want no sweeteners).
  2. Bloat after dairy: try an isolate such as USN Isozero (best isolates).
  3. Milk allergy: neither is suitable; see a doctor.

ATP trade-offs apply to both: no published protein per serving or third-party certification, and a young brand (April 2024). See the best whey protein comparison and best whey isolate.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderSweeteners
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R28.03R68.90not stated
USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g)805 gR899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R38.53R111.68not stated
NPL Platinum Whey (908 g)908 gR700 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10)—R32.89R77.09sucralose
NPL 100% Whey Protein Isolate (700 g)700 gR900 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10)—R48.46R128.57sucralose
ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate1 kgR800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)——R80.00None
ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate800 gR900 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)——R112.50None

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.