Often yes, with the right whey. The key is lactose (milk sugar) versus milk protein, which are different things.
How much lactose is in whey?
Typical values from industry references (not a South African legal standard; check each product's spec sheet):
| Type | Typical lactose |
|---|
| Whey protein isolate (WPI) | under about 1% |
| Whey concentrate (WPC80) | roughly 3% to 8% |
| Multi-source protein blend | varies; PVM Protein XTR lists 4.0 g lactose per 50 g serving |
Isolate has less lactose, but "less" is not "none". Hydrolysed whey is processed for faster digestion; it is not automatically lactose-free.
How do you try whey safely?
- Start with half a scoop of an isolate, mixed in water, not milk.
- Wait a few hours to see symptoms (bloating, gas, cramps, diarrhoea).
- Increase slowly. Many people tolerate 20 to 25 g of isolate.
- Consider a lactase enzyme tablet if you tolerate small amounts.
- If symptoms persist, see a doctor or dietitian; other conditions can mimic lactose intolerance.
Which isolates are available in South Africa?
October 2026 prices: Primal Whey Isolate 750 g (R700), USN Isozero 805 g (R899 to R909.99), ATP Fitness Unflavoured Isolate 800 g (R900; Takealot R699, undated PriceCheck snapshot), NPL Whey Isolate 700 g (R900) and Biogen Whey Isolate 700 g (R1 300). Nutritech Clear Whey Isolate 500 g (R549 at Clicks) is a clear, acidic-drink isolate. None of these brands publishes lactose per serving in the text we checked, so rely on the "isolate" type and the ingredient list, and verify on the tub. Remember "Iso" in a name does not guarantee isolate: Biogen Iso Whey Premium lists concentrate in its ingredients.
What about ATP Fitness?
ATP's isolates list only whey (plus vanilla or cocoa) and no sweeteners, so there are no added polyols or sugar alcohols. The trade-offs: ATP does not publish lactose per serving, protein per serving or third-party certification, and it is a young brand (April 2024). USN Isozero is a credible alternative with published protein per scoop.
Is a plant protein better?
If you cannot tolerate even isolate, or you have a milk allergy, use a plant protein. October 2026 examples: Faithful to Nature Pea Protein Isolate 650 g (R148 to R185, 15 g protein per 20 g, about R9 to R11 per 30 g protein), USN BlueLab Plant Protein 900 g (R399 to R474.99, sweetened with sucralose, acesulfame-K and steviol glycosides), and Biogen Plant Based Protein 700 g (R400). Plant proteins are lower in leucine and some are higher in lead in US testing (Consumer Reports, 2025), so rotate sources. See the best vegan protein.
What is the difference from a milk allergy?
A milk-protein allergy involves the immune system and can cause hives, swelling, vomiting or breathing difficulty. Lactose-free whey is not milk-protein-free. If you have an allergy, avoid whey entirely and see a doctor.
Where next?
See isolate vs concentrate and best lactose-free protein.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| Primal Whey Isolate (750 g) | 750 g | R700 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R93.33 | sucralose |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R900 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R112.50 | None |
| Nutritech Clear Whey Protein Isolate (500 g) | 500 g | R549 (Clicks (via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | R109.80 | not stated |
| Faithful to Nature (FtN) Pea Protein Isolate Powder (650 g) | 650 g | R148-R185 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R11.38 | R28.46 | none |
| USN BlueLab 100% Plant Based Protein (900 g) | 900 g | R399-R474.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R24.54 | R52.78 | sucralose, acesulfame-K, steviol glycosides |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.