Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Protein · Answer

How do whey proteins compare per 30 g of protein in South Africa?

South African whey costs about R18 to R51 per 30 g of protein in October 2026, using serving data the brands publish. Budget blends such as USN Hydrotech (about R18–R21) and NPL Platinum Whey Plus (about R23.50) sit lowest, USN BlueLab 1 kg is near R28, isolates run about R38–R49 and imported Myprotein Impact Whey is near R51.

· 3 min read

How much does 30 g of whey protein cost in South Africa?

The table ranks products by Rand per 30 g of protein: tub price divided by (tub weight, divided by serving weight, multiplied by protein per serving), multiplied by 30. Prices are from brand shops or Dis-Chem Living Fit, October 2026.

ProductTypePriceServing / proteinR per 30 g protein
USN Hydrotech 900 gwhey and wheat protein matrixR369–R41830 g / 20 gR18–R21
NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kgwhey with pea, rice, eggR49040 g / 25 gR23.50
NPL Anabolic Whey 908 gwhey with soy and peaR48043 g / 27.6 gR24.70
USN BlueLab 1 kgwhey blendR68932 g / 23.6 gR28.00
Primal Whey 750 gconcentrate, isolate, hydrolysateR540–R74030 g / 21 gR31–R42
NPL Platinum Whey 908 gwhey blendR70032 g / 22.5 gR32.90
USN Isozero 805 gisolateR899–R91023 g / 20 gR38.50–R39
Lifestyle Food WPC 500 gsingle-ingredient concentrateR50020 g / 15.2 gR39.50
Biogen Iso Whey Premium 750 gblend (ingredients include concentrate)R76530 g / 20.9 gR44
NPL 100% Whey Isolate 700 gisolateR90025 g / 19.9 gR48.50
Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kgconcentrateR1 30030 g / 23 gR51

Primal's price differs between its product page and category listing, hence the band. Evox Whey Advanced (R670 for 908 g) is left out because its Dis-Chem page lists 23 g protein but no scoop weight.

What does the table tell you?

Blends beat isolates on price per gram of protein, usually by 30–60%. Isolates cost more because they are filtered further and carry more protein per scoop, not because they build more muscle per gram. Pure whey is not the cheapest source here: the two lowest rows include wheat, pea, rice, soy or egg protein, so read whey blend vs isolate before buying on price alone. USN Hardcore Whey gH lists 27 g in a 33 g scoop at R449 per kg, which would be cheaper still, but that density alongside added creatine looks high, so we left it out until the label is verified.

Where do ATP Fitness products fit?

ATP Fitness's shop and Takealot listings did not publish serving size or protein per serving on 27 October 2026, so ATP cannot be ranked on this metric. Per 100 g of powder (not comparable with protein cost), ATP's unflavoured concentrate is R80 in the shop and about R64 on Takealot (undated PriceCheck snapshot), its isolates are R112–R131, against R100 for Lifestyle Food's concentrate and R130 for Myprotein.

Can you trust the label numbers?

Only partly. South African testing found most sampled products differing from their labelled protein, so treat the table as the best case (how protein is measured). Compare against the cheapest whey per serving answer and the best whey protein and best whey isolate pages.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderSweeteners
USN Hydrotech Whey Protein (900 g)900 gR369-R417.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R20.50R45.55not stated
NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg)1 kgR490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10)25R23.52R49.00sucralose
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R28.03R68.90not stated
NPL Platinum Whey (908 g)908 gR700 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10)—R32.89R77.09sucralose
USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g)805 gR899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R38.53R111.68not stated
Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R50.87R130.00sucralose

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.