Isolate is whey filtered further to remove lactose and fat, so each scoop carries more protein. A blend mixes concentrate, isolate and sometimes hydrolysate, and in South Africa some blends add other proteins. Per gram of protein, muscle outcomes are essentially equivalent (ISSN). The differences are cost, lactose, protein density and sweeteners.
How do they compare on listed data?
| Product | Type | Protein density | R per 30 g protein (October 2026) |
|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg | multi-source blend | 62.5% | R23.50 |
| USN BlueLab 1 kg | whey blend | 73.8% | R28 |
| NPL Platinum Whey 908 g | whey blend | 70.3% | R33 |
| Biogen Iso Whey Premium 750 g | blend | 69.7% | R44 |
| USN Isozero 805 g | isolate | 87% | R38.50 |
| NPL 100% Whey Isolate 700 g | isolate | 79.6% | R48.50 |
Protein density is protein per serving divided by serving weight, from each brand's published figures.
How do you read the label?
Names can mislead. We found four patterns on South African listings:
- Multi-source blends: NPL Platinum Whey Plus includes pea, rice and egg protein; NPL Anabolic Whey contains soy and pea; PVM Protein XTR contains egg albumen and a casein-containing milk protein isolate.
- "Iso" in the name: Biogen's Iso Whey Premium ingredient list includes concentrate, so "Iso" is a brand name, not a guarantee.
- Hydrolysate in blends: Primal Whey Protein lists concentrate, isolate and hydrolysate.
- Isolate does not mean unsweetened: NPL and Primal isolates still contain sucralose.
Check the first ingredient, the protein per 100 g and the allergen statement. Rough guides: isolate near 85–90 g protein per 100 g, concentrate near 70–80 g.
Which should you buy?
- Budget and fine with lactose: a blend or concentrate, with the maths from the per 30 g protein comparison.
- Lactose-sensitive or cutting: isolate (isolate vs concentrate).
- Unsweetened: look for a single-ingredient label, for example ATP Fitness's isolate (R900–R950) or concentrate (R800–R850); Lifestyle Food's concentrate is a credible alternative. ATP's trade-offs are price per 100 g (R80–R131), plain taste, and no published protein per serving or third-party certification.
Why do blends exist?
Mostly price: concentrate and plant or egg protein cost less than isolate, so brands blend to hit a price. Some labels also use blends to claim a protein number. South African testing of 70 protein products found many differing from labelled protein, so favour brands that print serving size and protein (what is protein spiking).
Where can you read more?
See hydrolysed whey vs isolate, the best whey protein and best whey isolate pages. Check with a doctor or dietitian if you have a milk allergy or kidney disease.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| NPL 100% Whey Protein Isolate (700 g) | 700 g | R900 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R48.46 | R128.57 | sucralose |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| Biogen Iso Whey Premium (750 g) | 750 g | R765 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10) | — | R43.92 | R102.00 | not stated |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| NPL Anabolic Whey (908 g) | 908 g | R480 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R24.71 | R52.86 | sucralose |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.