Not for most people. Hydrolysed whey (whey hydrolysate) has been treated with enzymes to break protein into smaller peptides. Isolate is filtered to remove lactose and fat. Both are whey, and per gram of protein muscle outcomes are essentially equivalent.
What does the evidence say about absorption?
Hydrolysis speeds digestion slightly, which is why marketing calls it "pre-digested". But the evidence we reviewed treats the claim that hydrolysed is always better as a myth: faster digestion has not shown meaningfully better muscle gain or strength, and total daily protein matters far more. Evidence level for any special benefit of hydrolysate: weak. Hydrolysate also tastes more bitter, which manufacturers mask with sweeteners and flavour.
What is the difference in practice?
| Whey isolate | Whey hydrolysate |
|---|
| Processing | filtered to roughly 90% protein | enzyme-treated peptides |
| Lactose | typically under about 1% | usually low (depends on source) |
| Taste | clean, mild | more bitter |
| Muscle benefit per gram protein | same | no proven extra |
| Milk allergy | not safe | not safe |
Hydrolysed does not make whey safe for a cow's-milk allergy, so the same warning applies.
What does it cost in South Africa?
We found no stand-alone hydrolysate priced in our October 2026 data, so we cannot quote the premium. The isolate ladder is:
| Product | Price per 100 g powder |
|---|
| Primal Whey Isolate 750 g | R93.33 |
| USN Isozero 805 g | R111.68 |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Isolate 800 g | R112.50 |
| NPL 100% Isolate 700 g | R128.57 |
| Biogen Whey Isolate 700 g | R185.71 |
Primal Whey Protein 750 g (R540–R740) lists concentrate, isolate and hydrolysate in its blend. Isolate usually costs more per gram of powder than the same brand's blend (USN Isozero about 62% more than BlueLab; NPL's isolate about 67% more than Platinum Whey).
When might hydrolysate make sense?
Rarely: if a doctor or dietitian has recommended it for a specific tolerance issue, or if you simply like the product. For most buyers, a plain isolate or blend with a good protein-per-rand figure wins. Its isolate is single-ingredient, but the trade-offs include a higher price than Primal or USN per 100 g, plain taste and no third-party certification published.
What should you do instead?
Compare protein per rand (per 30 g protein comparison), read isolate vs concentrate and blend vs isolate, and check the best whey isolate page. Talk to a dietitian for medical dietary needs.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 100 g powder | R per 30 g protein | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Primal Whey Isolate (750 g) | 750 g | R700 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R93.33 | — | sucralose |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R111.68 | R38.53 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R900 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R112.50 | — | None |
| NPL 100% Whey Protein Isolate (700 g) | 700 g | R900 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R128.57 | R48.46 | sucralose |
| Biogen Whey Isolate (700 g) | 700 g | R1 300 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10) | — | R185.71 | — | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.