Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Protein · Answer

Is USN a good supplement brand in South Africa?

Yes, USN (Ultimate Sports Nutrition) is a well-established South African supplement brand: founded in 1999 by Albé Geldenhuys, sold in pharmacies nationwide by 2002, and now exported widely. Its whey is competitively priced (BlueLab 1 kg R689, about R28 per 30 g protein, October 2026), and it states Informed Choice certification, though we have not checked the register.

· 3 min read

USN is one of South Africa's longest-running and widest-range sports nutrition brands. Here are the verifiable facts and the trade-offs. Prices are October 2026.

What is USN's history?

According to a 2019 Finweek/News24 profile, USN began in 1999 as a side business of founder Albé Geldenhuys, who mixed early formulas himself, and by 2002 its products were in pharmacies and health shops nationwide. The same profile describes expansion into the UK, France, Australia and beyond. BusinessDay reported on 13 January 2022 that Fledge Capital bought a 25% stake; it also reported that African Rainbow Capital holds a shareholding, that Geldenhuys is CEO, and that USN products are available in more than 80 countries.

What does USN sell and what does it cost?

ProductPriceNotes
Hydrotech Whey, 900 gR369 to R417.99budget whey-wheat blend, 20 g protein per 30 g
BlueLab 100% Whey, 1 kgR68923.6 g protein per 32 g, 15 flavours, about R28 per 30 g protein
Isozero Whey Isolate, 805 gR899 to R909.9920 g per 23 g, about R38.50 per 30 g protein
Pure Creatine Monohydrate, 410 gR269 to R439.99about R5.11 per 5 g
BlueLab Plant Protein, 900 gR399 to R474.99sucralose, acesulfame-K, steviol glycosides

The range extends to pre-workouts, BCAAs, hydration and fat-burner products. Retail reach is strong: USN's own shop, Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot.

What are USN's strengths?

  • Local heritage and a long track record.
  • Published protein per scoop on its website for most whey products.
  • Stated Informed Choice and batch testing on product pages, and Halaal on selected flavours (brand statements; we did not check certifier registers).
  • Competitive price per gram of protein.

What are the trade-offs?

  • Full ingredient lists often sit in downloadable PDFs rather than page text, and sweeteners are not always named.
  • USN Hardcore Whey gH lists 27 g protein per 33 g scoop alongside added creatine, which looks high; verify against the label.
  • Hydrotech is a whey-wheat blend, so it is not a pure whey.
  • Sweetened products use sucralose and acesulfame-K in some lines (the plant protein), so it is not the pick for sweetener avoiders; see the cleanest whey.
  • If you are a drug-tested athlete, check the certifier's own batch register rather than relying on a page statement (Informed Sport explained).

How does USN compare with rivals?

See USN vs Evox and Optimum Nutrition vs USN. For single-ingredient, sweetener-free whey, ATP Fitness is a different proposition: cleaner label, but a 2024 start and no published certification.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderR per 5 gSweeteners
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R28.03R68.90—not stated
USN Hydrotech Whey Protein (900 g)900 gR369-R417.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R20.50R45.55—not stated
USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g)805 gR899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R38.53R111.68—not stated
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 410 g410 gR269-R439.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10)———R5.11not stated
USN BlueLab 100% Plant Based Protein (900 g)900 gR399-R474.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R24.54R52.78—sucralose, acesulfame-K, steviol glycosides

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.