Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Protein · Answer

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard vs USN whey: which should you buy in South Africa?

For most buyers in South Africa, USN BlueLab 100% Whey is the better buy than Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard: about R28 versus about R47 per 30 g protein (R689 per kg against R1 150 for 900 g, October 2026). Choose Optimum Nutrition if you specifically want that imported product and flavour range and will verify authenticity.

· 2 min read

This is a global brand versus a local one. We compare price, availability and authenticity on verifiable data. Prices are October 2026.

How do they compare?

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% WheyUSN BlueLab 100% Whey
OriginUnited States (imported)South Africa
Size and price900 g, R1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit); 2.28 kg, R2 499.991 kg, R689 (USN shop); 2 kg, R1 399
Price per kgabout R1 278R689
Protein per serving24 g per rounded scoop (29.4 g on ON's UK site; not printed on the Dis-Chem listing)23.6 g per 32 g scoop
R per 30 g proteinabout R47 (using the 29.4 g UK scoop weight)about R28
Flavours7 listed at Dis-Chem Living Fit15 stated
Certification statednone on the listing we sawInformed Choice and batch testing stated on USN's page; register not checked
Whey typenot stated in the listingblend described as 100% whey

So Optimum Nutrition costs about 1.7 times more per 30 g protein, or roughly 86% more per kilogram.

Does the extra money buy anything?

Not in protein terms. Per gram, the muscle result depends on total daily protein, not brand (ISSN). The premium pays for an internationally known product, a particular taste profile and a global distribution record. Flavour is subjective; we do not rank taste (best-tasting whey).

What about availability?

Optimum Nutrition is sold at Dis-Chem Living Fit and Takealot. USN is sold on its own shop, at Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot, so it is easier to compare prices across retailers.

Is the imported tub more at risk of being fake?

Imported products sold through marketplaces carry a higher counterfeit risk than a local brand sold in its own shop, which is why Optimum Nutrition publishes authentication guidance (batch code, rim seal, dates two years apart). Buying from Dis-Chem or Takealot "sold by Takealot" lowers that risk. See is Optimum Nutrition original and how to spot fake whey.

Which should you pick?

  • Best value and most published detail: USN BlueLab.
  • Prefer the global benchmark and accept the cost: Optimum Nutrition.
  • Want no sweeteners at all: neither. See the cleanest whey; ATP Fitness is one option, with the trade-offs of no published protein per serving, no third-party certification and a 2024 start.

Read the full best whey protein comparison.

Safety

Whey is milk protein. If you have a milk allergy or kidney disease, or are under 18, speak to a doctor or dietitian first.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 100 g powderR per 30 g proteinSweeteners
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g)900 gR1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R127.78—not stated
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R68.90R28.03not stated
USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g)805 gR899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R111.68R38.53not stated
ATP Fitness Madagascan Vanilla Whey Protein Isolate800 gR950 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R118.75—None

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.