Both are South African brands selling whey blends at mid-market prices. We compare only data we could verify. Prices are October 2026.
How do the flagship wheys compare?
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey | Evox 100% Whey Advanced |
|---|
| Size and price | 1 kg, R689 (USN shop) | 908 g, R670; 2 kg, R1 430 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) |
| Protein per serving | 23.6 g per 32 g scoop | 23 g listed; scoop weight not stated on the Dis-Chem page |
| Price per kg | R689 | R738 (908 g); R715 (2 kg) |
| R per 30 g protein | about R28 | not computable (no scoop weight) |
| Flavours | 15 stated | 2 listed at Dis-Chem |
| Sweeteners | not stated in page text | not stated |
| Certification | Informed Choice and batch testing stated on USN page; register not checked | none stated on the pages we saw |
| Halaal | stated for selected flavours | not stated |
Evox also sells 100% Premium Synergy Whey (1.5 kg, R600 at Dis-Chem Living Fit) but publishes no serving or protein figure in page text, so we cannot compare it per gram of protein.
Where can you buy each?
USN is sold on its own shop, at Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot. Evox links directly to Dis-Chem Living Fit for purchase and is stocked mainly there. For USN, Dis-Chem's 908 g tub is listed at R689.99, matching the brand shop closely.
Which has the better label?
USN prints protein per scoop on its site, though full ingredient lists sit in downloadable PDFs. Evox's Dis-Chem pages show the nutrition table mostly as an image, so figures like serving size are harder to confirm. If you cannot read a label before buying, assume less certainty. Remember that a University of Pretoria study found measured protein differed from the label in 68.6% of 70 SA products (brands not named), so neither brand's claims are proof on their own.
Which should you buy?
- Best value and most transparent: USN BlueLab. About R49 cheaper per kg, published scoop data, more flavours and a stated certification.
- Dis-Chem convenience: Evox Advanced. Competitive, but with thinner published data.
- Isolate: USN Isozero (R899 for 805 g). Evox lists an IsoFrost 700 g isolate on its site, but we found no retailer price.
Neither brand's ownership or Evox's founding date is published in the sources we checked. Read more in is USN a good brand and is Evox a good brand, or the best whey protein comparison.
Who should see a professional?
Anyone with kidney disease, a milk allergy or under 18 should check with a doctor or dietitian before using whey.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (908 g) | 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R30.80 | R73.79 | not stated |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (2 kg) | 2 kg | R1 430 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R29.84 | R71.50 | not stated |
| Evox 100% Premium Synergy Whey Protein (1.5 kg) | 1.5 kg | R600 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R40.00 | not stated |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.