We verified four on Dis-Chem Living Fit on 27 October 2026. Rand per 20 g of protein is price divided by grams of protein in the bottle, multiplied by 20.
| Shake | Size | Price | Protein | R per 20 g protein | Notes |
|---|
| USN Super M Protein Shake | 300 ml | R24.99 | 22 g | R22.72 | sucralose and added colourants; cool, dry place until opened |
| Primal Protein Shake | 350 ml | R36.99 | 25 g (170 kcal) | R29.59 | sucralose and acesulfame K; unopened shelf life not stated |
| Grenade Protein Shake | 330 ml | R59.95 | up to 25 g (under 211 kcal) | R47.96 | sucralose; out of stock when checked |
| Barebells Protein Shake | 330 ml | R59.99 | 24 g | R49.99 | sweeteners not specified; best served chilled |
All four contain cow's milk. Calorie data was missing on some pages, so we do not rank on calories.
How do shakes compare with powder and bars?
Per 20 g of protein in October 2026: powder is cheapest, at about R15.70 for NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg and about R18.70 for USN BlueLab 1 kg; the cheapest RTD is about R22.70; bars run R40–R64.
| Format | Example | R per 20 g protein |
|---|
| Powder | NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490) | about R15.70 |
| RTD shake | USN Super M 300 ml | R22.72 |
| Protein bar | NPL 21 Protein Bar 65 g (R41.99, 21 g) | R40.00 |
| Protein bar | Biogen Iso Whey Premium Crunch Bar (R54.99, 22 g) | R50.00 |
| Protein bar | USN Trust Crunch 12 x 60 g (R600, 20 g) | R50.00 |
| Protein bar | Myprotein Layered Bar 60 g (R63.99, 20 g) | R63.99 |
A shake costs roughly 1.5 times the same protein as powder, a premium for convenience. For a bakkie, gym bag or road trip it can be worth it, but for daily use powder wins (per 30 g protein comparison).
How do you pick a shelf-stable one?
Read the label for three things: whether it says "keep in a cool, dry place" (shelf-stable until opened) or "keep chilled"; how long it lasts after opening (these pages say 12 to 24 hours, so finish it the same day); and the best-before date, which R146 requires. Do not leave a bottle in a hot car: heat degrades taste and quality, and a swollen or leaking bottle should be discarded.
What should you watch for?
- Sweeteners and colourants: the USN page lists added colourants; Primal uses two sweeteners while describing the product as "naturally sweetened", so read the ingredient list, not the front.
- Protein accuracy: South African testing found most sampled protein products differing from the label; shakes were not separately reported.
- Daily limit: Primal's page advises no more than two shakes a day.
- Allergens and health: milk allergy rules them out; check with a doctor or dietitian if you have kidney disease or are pregnant.
Which one should you choose?
For price, USN Super M; for protein per bottle, Primal; for the cleanest-looking label, we cannot rank because Barebells does not specify its sweeteners. Compare with protein bars, how to choose a protein powder and the best whey protein ranking.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| NPL 21 Protein Bar (65 g) | 65 g | R41.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 1 | R59.99 | R64.60 | sucralose, sorbitol, maltitol and sugar (chocolate coating) |
| Biogen Iso Whey Premium Crunch Protein Bar (65 g) | 65 g | R54.99 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10) | 1 | R74.99 | R84.60 | not stated |
| USN Trust Crunch Protein Bars (12 x 60 g) | 12 x 60 g | R600 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | 12 | R75.00 | R83.33 | not stated |
| Myprotein Layered Protein Bar (60 g) | 60 g | R63.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 1 | R95.98 | R106.65 | maltitol (main), chicory fibre, oligofructose |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.