What is the quickest way to choose?
Work through four questions: what is my goal, what is my budget per serving, can I tolerate lactose, and what does the label really say. Protein powder is a convenience food. Muscle gain depends on total daily protein (about 1.4-2.0 g/kg a day for people who train, per the ISSN) plus resistance training, and a meta-analysis of 49 trials (Morton 2018) found supplements added only about 0.3 kg of fat-free mass on average.
Which type suits you?
| Your situation | Best fit | Why |
|---|
| Tight budget, tolerate lactose | Whey blend or concentrate | Cheapest per gram of protein |
| Bloating or lactose sensitivity | Whey isolate | Typically under 1% lactose |
| Cutting calories | Isolate or high-protein blend | Lowest carbs and fat per serving |
| Dairy-free or vegan | Pea or pea-rice blend | Needs a larger serving for leucine |
| Want no sweeteners | Unflavoured or minimally flavoured | Most local whey uses sucralose |
Per gram of protein, isolate and concentrate build muscle equally well; the differences are lactose, density and price. See whey isolate versus concentrate.
What does protein cost per 30 g in South Africa?
These figures use listed protein per scoop and October 2026 prices (our calculation):
| Product | Price | Approx. R per 30 g protein |
|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop) | R23.52 |
| USN BlueLab Whey 1 kg | R689 (USN shop) | about R28 |
| Evox 100% Whey Advanced 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | about R31 |
| NPL Platinum Whey 908 g | R700 (NPL shop) | about R33 |
| USN Isozero Isolate 805 g | R899 (USN shop) | about R38.50 |
| Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | about R51 |
ATP Fitness Whey Protein Concentrate (1 kg, R800-R850) and Isolate (800 g, R900-R1 050) cannot be ranked on this measure because ATP does not publish protein per serving. Per 100 g of powder, ATP is R80-R85 for concentrate and R112.50-R131.25 for isolate. The trade-off is clear: you pay more for a minimal, sweetener-free ingredient list, with no published serving data or third-party certification. Alternatives with published scoops are USN BlueLab and NPL Platinum Whey Plus.
How do you read the label?
- Protein per 100 g. Isolate is typically 85-90 g, concentrate 70-80 g. A "whey" tub far below that deserves questions.
- Ingredient list. Look for added free amino acids (glycine, taurine), a sign of amino spiking.
- Sweeteners. Sucralose is common in NPL, Primal, Biogen Complete Whey and Myprotein; unflavoured tubs avoid it.
- Honesty of the numbers. A University of Pretoria study of 70 SA products found protein differed significantly from the label in 68.6%.
Our guide to reading a supplement label walks through this step by step, and amino spiking explains the tricks.
How much do you need?
About 20-40 g of protein per serving (0.25-0.4 g/kg per meal). One scoop a day is enough for most people who struggle to hit targets from food. If you are under 18, pregnant or have kidney disease, speak to a doctor or dietitian first.
Where do you go next?
Compare brands in our best whey protein, best whey isolate and best clean label protein guides, or read is protein powder necessary.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (908 g) | 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R30.80 | R73.79 | not stated |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R80.00 | None |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R900 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R112.50 | None |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.