Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Buying guide · Answer

What supplements should a gym beginner buy first in South Africa?

A gym beginner in South Africa needs at most two: creatine monohydrate (3-5 g a day, about R67-R167 a month) and, only if food falls short, a whey or plant protein. Everything else, such as pre-workouts, BCAAs, fat burners and testosterone boosters, can wait. Spend first on food, training and sleep.

· 3 min read

What should a beginner buy first?

Beginners gain muscle from training, enough protein and sleep. Supplements add a small edge on top. In order of value:

  1. Creatine monohydrate, 3-5 g a day. Strongest evidence, cheapest, safest long-term record (ISSN).
  2. A protein powder, only if you cannot reach 1.4-2.0 g/kg a day from food. One scoop gives 20-25 g.
  3. Vitamin D, only if a blood test shows low levels or you get little sun.
  4. Caffeine, a coffee 60 minutes before training, if you like it.

What does it cost in South Africa?

As of October 2026:

ItemProduct and priceCost
CreatinePure Natural Options 500 g, R222 (Knysna Health)R2.22 per 5 g, about R67 a month
CreatineNutritech 500 g, about R250 (Wellness Warehouse)R2.50 per 5 g, about R75 a month
CreatineATP Fitness Micronised 600 g, R500 (ATP shop)R4.17 per 5 g, about R125 a month
Whey blendNPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg, R490 (NPL shop)About R23.52 per 30 g protein
Whey blendUSN BlueLab 1 kg, R689 (USN shop)About R28 per 30 g protein
Vitamin DDis-Chem Gold D3 1 000 IU, 60 tablets, R160R2.67 a day

ATP Fitness makes single-ingredient, unsweetened creatine, which suits beginners who dislike additives. The trade-offs: it costs about twice the cheapest option, and ATP does not publish third-party sport certification. Cheaper alternatives from Nutritech or Pure Natural Options are equally effective for most people.

What should a beginner skip?

  • Pre-workouts with undisclosed stimulants. A coffee costs less. See is pre-workout safe.
  • BCAAs. If you eat enough protein they add nothing; see do BCAAs work.
  • Fat burners and "testosterone boosters". Weak evidence, higher risk, contamination history.
  • Mass gainers, unless you struggle to eat enough; a milk, oats and peanut-butter shake does the same.

Do you need protein powder at all?

Not necessarily. Eggs, dairy, meat, fish, beans and biltong supply protein. Powder is a convenient top-up. Read is protein powder necessary and how to choose one.

Special cases

  • Under 18: food first. Creatine is acceptable for serious, supervised adolescent athletes, but speak to a sports doctor or dietitian first; SAIDS recommends against performance supplements for under-18s.
  • Women: the same doses apply; see is creatine safe for women.
  • Kidney or liver disease, pregnancy, medication: check with a doctor first.

Where next?

See which supplements actually work, our best creatine and best whey protein comparisons, and a R500-a-month stack.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderR per servingSweeteners
Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g500 gR222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.22———not stated
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g500 gR249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.50———not stated
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17———None
NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg)1 kgR490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10)25—R23.52R49.00—sucralose
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)——R28.03R68.90—not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets60 tabletsR160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)60———R2.67not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.