What matters most for R500?
Creatine and protein give the most evidence for the money. Together they cost less than most branded stacks, and spare you the products with the weakest evidence. Food comes first: if R500 is also your food budget, protein-rich staples beat powders.
What are the best three plans?
All prices are October 2026 retailer prices.
Plan A: whey and creatine (month one about R481-R541)
- Pure Natural Options Creatine 500 g, R222 (Knysna Health): R2.22 per 5 g. At 5 g a day this lasts about 100 days, so it costs about R67 a month.
- Black Bull Whey Supreme 908 g, R259-R319 (Clicks): the cheapest branded 908 g whey we found. We did not capture protein per serving for it, so cost per 30 g protein cannot be calculated.
From month two onwards, creatine is nearly free, leaving most of R500 for whey.
Plan B: documented whey (about R490)
NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg, R490 (NPL shop): 25 servings of 40 g with 25 g protein each, about R23.52 per 30 g protein. A daily 30 g protein serving would cost about R706 a month, so R490 buys about 20 days of that. Add creatine next month.
Plan C: plant-based budget (about R340-R490)
- Faithful to Nature Pea Protein Isolate 650 g, R148-R185 (15 g protein per 20 g): roughly R9-R11 per 30 g protein, so about R275-R340 for 30 daily servings.
- Creatine, about R67 a month.
- Optional vitamin D (only if low): Dis-Chem Gold D3 1 000 IU, R160 for 60 tablets, about R80 a month.
Pea protein has less leucine and methionine than whey, so use a larger serving (30-40 g) or a pea-rice blend. Plant powders carried more lead than dairy ones in US testing (Consumer Reports, 2025; no South African brands tested), so vary brands.
Where does ATP Fitness fit?
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine is R500 for 600 g (R4.17 per 5 g, about R125 a month); its single-ingredient, unsweetened design suits people avoiding additives. ATP's whey (R800-R850 per kg concentrate) does not fit a R500 budget. The honest trade-offs: higher cost per dose than the cheapest creatine, and no published third-party certification.
What should you leave out?
- Pre-workout (R25-R30 a serving for branded options); a coffee does the job.
- BCAAs and glutamine, with weak evidence.
- Multivitamins, fat burners and "testosterone boosters".
How should you use the stack?
- Creatine 5 g a day, every day, any time.
- Protein to fill gaps: aim for 1.4-2.0 g/kg a day in total.
- Buy the big creatine tub once; buy protein by the month.
If you are under 18, pregnant, or have kidney disease, speak to a doctor or dietitian first. See best supplements for beginners, cheapest place to buy and which supplements actually work.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 100 g powder | R per 30 g protein | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | — | — | not stated |
| Black Bull Whey Supreme Lean Muscle Protein (908 g) | 908 g | R259-R319 (Clicks (via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | R32.93 | — | — | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | — | R49.00 | R23.52 | — | sucralose |
| Faithful to Nature (FtN) Pea Protein Isolate Powder (650 g) | 650 g | R148-R185 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | — | R28.46 | R11.38 | — | none |
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | — | — | — | R2.67 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | — | — | None |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.