What is Creapure?
Creapure is a registered trademark of Alzchem Trostberg GmbH, a German manufacturer. It is creatine monohydrate, the same molecule that sits behind decades of research, made at a single site and marketed on purity and consistency. The Dis-Chem listing for Foundation describes it as a product of Germany made with Creapure.
Does Creapure work better than ordinary creatine?
There is no evidence that it does. The ISSN position stand and the studies behind it are on creatine monohydrate in general, not on one brand, and monohydrate of good quality produces the same muscle saturation: 3–5 g a day, with or without a loading phase. What Creapure offers is a defined source and, according to the maker, tight purity control. That is a quality-assurance argument, not a performance one.
Which Creapure products are sold in South Africa?
We verified two brands on SA retailer pages in October 2026. We only name products whose listing states Creapure.
| Product | Size | Price (retailer) | R per 5 g |
|---|
| Foundation Creatine Monohydrate (Creapure) | 400 g | R499.95 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R6.25 |
| Foundation Creatine Monohydrate (Creapure) | 200 g | R299.95 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R7.50 |
| Empyre For Men Prime Creapure | 300 g | R850–R949 (Faithful to Nature) | about R14–R16 |
| Empyre For Men Prime Creapure | 100 g | R349–R350 (Faithful to Nature) | about R17.45 |
The Faithful to Nature page for Empyre also lists the product as Kosher and Halaal. The Foundation page lists no third-party sport certification.
Is the premium worth it?
Plain creatine monohydrate in South Africa costs from about R2.22 per 5 g (Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222 at Knysna Health) to around R5.55 per 5 g (Myprotein 500 g, R555 at Dis-Chem). Creapure products carry a premium of roughly 1.4 to 2.8 times typical shelf prices, depending on the brand. Over a year at 5 g a day the gap is roughly:
- Foundation 400 g: about R2 280 a year
- Biogen 500 g (R4.45 per 5 g): about R1 620 a year
- Empyre 300 g: about R5 200 to R5 800 a year
If purity sourcing matters to you, Foundation is the moderate-premium way to get Creapure. If you simply want effective creatine, a standard monohydrate is the better value.
What should you look for instead of a brand name?
- A single-ingredient label: creatine monohydrate only, no added ingredients.
- A batch number and best-before date, plus an SA importer or manufacturer address, as R146 labelling rules require.
- If you are drug-tested, a third-party batch-testing claim you can verify. Biogen's creatine carries a seller claim of Informed Sport testing (not independently checked).
- Honest value: ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine is R500 for 600 g (R4.17 per 5 g) at its own shop, but it does not state a Creapure source or publish sport certification, so it competes on price and a short label, not on a named supplier.
See micronised versus regular creatine, the best creatine in South Africa and cheapest creatine per serving.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 400 g | 400 g | R500 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R6.25 | None |
| Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 200 g | 200 g | R300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R7.50 | not stated |
| Empyre For Men Prime Creapure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R850-R949 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R15.82 | not stated |
| Empyre For Men Prime Creapure Creatine Monohydrate 100 g | 100 g | R349-R350 (Faithful to Nature (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R17.45 | not stated |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.