Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Creatine · Answer

Is micronised creatine better than regular creatine in South Africa?

Micronised creatine dissolves more easily but does not work better than regular creatine monohydrate. Both are the same molecule, so the muscle effect, dose (3-5 g a day) and safety are identical. In South Africa, micronised versions are common and not always dearer: as of October 2026, ATP Fitness 200-mesh micronised creatine costs R4.17 per 5 g at 600 g.

· 3 min read

What does micronised mean?

Micronised creatine has been milled to a finer particle size. Fineness is often quoted as a mesh number, where a higher number means a finer powder; 200 mesh means the powder passes a standard sieve with openings of about 75 micrometres. Standard monohydrate is coarser. ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine is the only product in our research that states its mesh (200-mesh); USN, NPL and Sally-Ann Creed also describe their creatine as micronised.

Does micronised creatine work better?

No. The active ingredient is the same creatine monohydrate in both. The ISSN position stand and the AIS Group A listing refer to monohydrate generally, and we found no trial showing that finer particles saturate muscle faster or produce better strength or lean-mass gains. The benefit of a finer powder is practical:

  • Dissolves faster with less grit at the bottom of the glass.
  • Mixes more smoothly in cold water and shakes.
  • May be gentler for people with sensitive stomachs who struggle with undissolved powder, though this is anecdotal.

Evidence level for any extra efficacy: none found.

How do prices compare?

Product (October 2026)PackPriceR per 5 gDescribed as
Sally-Ann Creed Pure Creatine300 gR229R3.82micronised
ATP Fitness Micronised600 gR500R4.17200-mesh micronised
USN Pure Creatine300 gR279 to R299about R4.98micronised
NPL Creatine Monohydrate500 gR539.99 (Dis-Chem)R5.40micronised
New Leaf Micronised Creatine150 gR415R13.83micronised
Thorne Micronized Creatine450 gR1 798 (Takealot special)R19.98micronized
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate500 gR249.95 to R399R2.50 to R3.99not stated

Micronised is not a reason to pay more. The cheapest tubs in South Africa do not always state micronisation, and some brands that do, such as Thorne and New Leaf, charge several times more per dose.

Which should you buy?

If you want a plain powder that mixes easily, a micronised tub from a mainstream brand is a good choice. If the lowest price per dose matters most and you do not mind stirring longer, a regular monohydrate such as Nutritech or Sport RX is fine. ATP Fitness 600 g offers micronised single-ingredient creatine at R4.17 per 5 g; honest trade-offs are that it is a young brand, unflavoured and has no published third-party certification, and Biogen 500 g (R4.45) is a credible alternative if you want a stated Informed Sport claim to check.

How should you mix it?

Stir 3-5 g into 200-300 ml of water, juice or a post-training shake. Warm liquids dissolve it faster, and you should drink it soon after mixing, since creatine slowly degrades in solution. For dosing, see how much creatine per day, and for full comparisons, the best creatine in South Africa and is single-ingredient creatine better.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gSweeteners
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17None
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g300 gR279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R4.98not stated
Sally-Ann Creed Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g300 gR229 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)—R3.82None
New Leaf Creatine Powder Micronised 150 g150 gR415 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)—R13.83not stated
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g500 gR249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.50not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.