What is the difference between single-ingredient creatine and blends?
A single-ingredient product is creatine monohydrate and nothing else. A blend adds other ingredients: carbohydrate to aid uptake, flavours and sweeteners, amino acids, or "performance" extras. In South Africa you will see both on the same shelf.
Is the evidence better for plain monohydrate?
Yes. The ISSN position stand and the AIS Group A listing refer to creatine monohydrate, at 3-5 g a day. The ISSN found no good evidence that other forms or added ingredients work better. Carbohydrate can modestly improve creatine uptake, but you can get the same effect by taking plain creatine with a normal meal or shake.
Which blends are sold in South Africa?
- Carbohydrate-creatine mixes: Evox Creatine Overload (650 g, R130.99), NPL Anabolic Creatine (675 g, R199.99), Primal Creatine Charge (860 g, R264.99) and Biogen Creatine Ultra Load (860 g, R269.99). They look cheap per gram but most of the scoop is carbohydrate, so the cost per 5 g of creatine is not comparable with monohydrate. MuscleTech Cell-Tech (1.36 kg, R929.99) adds carbohydrates, BCAAs and aminos, and does not state amounts.
- Creatine plus extras: USN CreaTest (375 g, R299.95) lists 5 000 mg creatine monohydrate with 1 500 mg D-aspartic acid and 100 mg ashwagandha per serving. Ashwagandha has documented rare liver-injury reports and has been restricted in some European countries; see supplements and liver injury.
- Other creatine forms: creatine HCl, nitrate and softgels cost more per dose and lack monohydrate's evidence; see monohydrate vs HCl.
What does single-ingredient creatine cost?
| Product (October 2026) | Price | R per 5 g |
|---|
| Nutritech 500 g | R249.95 to R399 | R2.50 to R3.99 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g | R500 | R4.17 |
| Biogen Unflavoured 500 g | R444.99 | R4.45 |
| USN Pure 300 g | R279 to R299 | about R4.98 |
| Foundation Creapure 400 g | R499.95 | R6.25 |
Is contamination a real risk with blends?
Yes, particularly for athletes. International testing found undeclared banned substances in a large share of multi-ingredient supplements marketed for muscle gain or fat loss: Duiven et al. 2021 reported 38% of 66 such products. Single-ingredient products from reputable makers generally carry lower risk, though none is zero-risk without batch testing. SAIDS flags muscle-building products as higher risk and certifies no brand. Read what third-party tested means.
So what should you buy?
If you want the cheapest effective option with a clean label, buy plain monohydrate in a 500 g or larger tub. ATP Fitness is built around this single-ingredient approach, with micronised creatine at R4.17 per 5 g for 600 g; credible alternatives include Biogen (Informed Sport stated by the seller) and Nutritech for price. The honest trade-offs for ATP: it is unflavoured, young (2024) and publishes no third-party certification. If you hate plain powder, mix it into a flavoured shake instead of buying a blend. See the best creatine in South Africa.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| USN CreaTest 375 g | 375 g | R300 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.00 | not stated |
| MuscleTech Cell-Tech Creatine 1.36 kg | 1.36 kg | R930 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R3.42 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.