How do Biogen and USN creatine compare?
Both are single-ingredient creatine monohydrate from South African brands, and both work the same way: 3-5 g a day (ISSN). The differences are price per dose, pack sizes and what each seller says about testing.
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate | USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate |
|---|
| Pack sizes | 100 g, 200 g, 500 g | 200 g, 300 g, 410 g |
| Price (October 2026) | 200 g R239.99; 500 g R444.99 (Dis-Chem) | 200 g R219 to R249.99; 300 g R279 to R299; 410 g R269 to R439.99 |
| R per 5 g | R6.00 (200 g); R4.45 (500 g) | R5.47 (200 g); about R4.98 (300 g); R5.11 (410 g) |
| Form | unflavoured; micronisation not stated | micronised per USN |
| Testing claim | "Informed Sport: yes" in the Dis-Chem specification (seller claim) | none stated for this product |
| Other tags | none noted | Halaal and Vegan tags on the USN shop |
Which has the better testing credentials?
Biogen. Its Dis-Chem listing carries an Informed Sport entry, and Informed Sport tests batches for a long list of banned substances. We did not check the certificate, so a drug-tested athlete should look up the batch number on the Informed Sport register rather than trust a retail page. USN's Pure Creatine pages in our research state no third-party certification; USN's separate XTS Hyperdrive pre-workout cites Informed Choice, which is a different product and a retail-sampling scheme. SAIDS does not certify any supplement; see what Informed Sport means.
Which is cheaper?
At the largest comparable sizes Biogen 500 g is about 10% cheaper per dose than USN 300 g (R4.45 vs about R4.98). USN's price varies the most by retailer: the 410 g tub was R269 at Faithful to Nature and R439.99 at Dis-Chem, a gap of more than 60%, so shop around. Neither is the cheapest on the market: Nutritech 500 g can be R2.50 to R3.99 per 5 g, and ATP Fitness 600 g is R4.17.
Which should you buy?
- Biogen: if you want the most creatine for the money from a mainstream shelf brand, or a tested-product claim to verify.
- USN: if you want a small first tub (200 g) from a widely stocked brand, or a vegan or halaal tag. Remember the tag is a brand claim; see is USN creatine good.
- Alternatives: ATP Fitness 600 g (R500) is a micronised single-ingredient option at R4.17 per 5 g, with the trade-offs that it is a young brand and publishes no third-party certification.
Compare more brands in the best creatine in South Africa. Brand pages: Biogen and USN.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 200 g | 200 g | R240 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R6.00 | None |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 410 g | 410 g | R269-R439.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.11 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 200 g | 200 g | R219-R249.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.47 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.