Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Creatine · Answer

Is USN creatine monohydrate any good in South Africa?

USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate is a solid mainstream choice in South Africa: micronised, sold in 200 g, 300 g and 410 g tubs, widely stocked, and tagged vegan and halaal on USN's shop. As of October 2026 it costs about R4.98 per 5 g at 300 g (R279 to R299). It is not the cheapest, and no third-party testing is stated for it.

· 3 min read

What is USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate?

USN is a South African sports nutrition brand. Its Pure Creatine Monohydrate is described as micronised creatine monohydrate, dosed at about one teaspoon (roughly 5 g) per serving, and sold in 200 g, 300 g and 410 g tubs. We read the sales listings rather than the label itself, so confirm the ingredient panel on your tub. Creatine monohydrate is an AIS Group A supplement with an ISSN maintenance dose of 3-5 g a day.

How much does it cost?

PackPrice (October 2026)R per 5 gNotes
200 gR219 (USN shop, Takealot) to R249.99 (Dis-Chem)R5.4740 servings
300 gR279 to R299 (USN shop); R292.99 (Dis-Chem)about R4.9860 servings
410 gR269 (Faithful to Nature) to R439.99 (Dis-Chem); R419 (USN shop)R5.11 at USN shopretailer gap above 60%

Cost per dose falls with tub size, and the 410 g tub shows the biggest retailer gap: at R269 it would be R3.28 per 5 g.

How does it compare?

Product (October 2026)R per 5 gTesting claim
Nutritech 500 gR2.50 to R3.99none stated
ATP Fitness Micronised 600 gR4.17none published
Biogen 500 gR4.45Informed Sport stated by seller
USN Pure Creatine 300 gabout R4.98none stated
NPL 500 g (Dis-Chem)R5.40none listed

USN is dearer per dose than the large-tub rivals, but it is easy to buy and the small 200 g tub suits a first month.

What are the strengths?

  • Widely available: USN's own shop, Dis-Chem, Takealot, Faithful to Nature and Clicks (which carries USN products).
  • Micronised powder that mixes easily.
  • Tags: USN's shop lists Pure Creatine as Halaal and Vegan; these are USN's statements, and we did not see a certificate.

What are the weaknesses?

  • No third-party testing is stated for the Pure Creatine pages we read. USN's XTS Hyperdrive pre-workout cites Informed Choice, a different product and a retail-sampling scheme. If you are drug-tested, see what Informed Sport means; Biogen's creatine listing states Informed Sport (a seller claim to verify).
  • Price per dose is higher than Biogen, ATP Fitness and Nutritech at their bigger sizes.
  • The Dis-Chem page carries the notice that the product is an unregistered medicine not evaluated by SAHPRA, which reflects unfinished regulation rather than a safety finding.

Do not confuse it with USN CreaTest, which adds D-aspartic acid and ashwagandha and is not pure monohydrate; see single-ingredient creatine.

Verdict

Good, dependable creatine, best bought in the 300 g or 410 g tub at the cheapest retailer. If price per dose is your priority, look at Nutritech or ATP Fitness 600 g (a young brand with no published certification and unflavoured only); if batch testing matters, check Biogen's claim. See Biogen vs USN creatine, the best creatine in South Africa and the USN brand page.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gSweeteners
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 200 g200 gR219-R249.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R5.47not stated
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g300 gR279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R4.98not stated
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 410 g410 gR269-R439.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R5.11not stated
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)100R4.45None (unflavoured)
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17None

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.