Do women need a different creatine?
No. Creatine monohydrate works the same way in women and men, and the evidence base (ISSN position stand, AIS Group A) is for monohydrate at 3-5 g a day. Products marketed "for her" are normally the same molecule with different packaging, flavours or added ingredients, often at a higher price. Evidence level: strong; see is creatine safe and useful for women.
What should you look for?
- One ingredient: creatine monohydrate only.
- A good price per dose: divide the tub price by grams, then multiply by 3 or 5.
- A tub of 300-500 g or more, because small tubs cost more per dose.
- Testing, if you compete: a batch-tested claim (Informed Sport) that you check on the register.
- No hidden extras: avoid blends with stimulants, herbs or "fat-burning" ingredients, which add contamination and side-effect risk.
How much do the options cost per dose?
| Product (October 2026) | Pack and price | R per 3 g | R per 5 g |
|---|
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate | 500 g, R249.95 to R399 | R1.50 to R2.39 | R2.50 to R3.99 |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure Creatine | 300 g, R229 | R2.29 | R3.82 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised | 600 g, R500 | R2.50 | R4.17 |
| Biogen Unflavoured | 500 g, R444.99 | R2.67 | R4.45 |
| USN Pure Creatine | 300 g, R279 to R299 | about R2.99 | about R4.98 |
| Foundation Creapure | 400 g, R499.95 | R3.75 | R6.25 |
A 500 g tub lasts 166 days at 3 g, so a larger tub is usually the better buy even for a small daily dose.
Our picks
- Best value: Nutritech 500 g, if you buy at the lower retailer price.
- Best clean-label, micronised option: ATP Fitness Micronised, a single ingredient with no sweeteners or flavours, sold as unflavoured powder. Honest trade-offs: young brand (2024), no published third-party certification, and a 250 g tub that costs R5.40 per 5 g.
- Best for batch-tested peace of mind: Biogen, whose listing states Informed Sport (a seller claim to verify).
- Creapure source: Foundation, at a higher price.
Read the best creatine in South Africa for a full ranking and cheapest creatine per serving.
How should women take it?
Take 3-5 g daily, with or without food, any time of day. Mix into water, tea (not boiling) or a smoothie. Loading is optional. Early weight gain of 1-2 kg is water in muscle; see creatine and bloating.
Who should check with a doctor first?
Women who are pregnant or breastfeeding, anyone with kidney disease, and anyone taking medicines that affect the kidneys. Creatine can raise blood creatinine, so tell your doctor you take it before blood tests.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R229 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R3.82 | None |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.