Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Creatine · Answer

What is the cheapest creatine per serving in South Africa?

The cheapest creatine per 5 g serving in South Africa is about R2.22 to R3 as of October 2026: Pure Natural Options 500 g (R2.22), Nutritech 500 g at Wellness Warehouse (R2.50) and NPL 500 g on a Takealot sale (R2.99). Mainstream shelf prices are R4.45 to R5.55. Bigger tubs and retailer choice matter more than brand.

· 3 min read

What is the cheapest creatine per serving?

A serving of creatine monohydrate is 5 g (the ISSN maintenance range is 3-5 g a day). As of October 2026, the lowest verified prices per 5 g for single-ingredient monohydrate are:

ProductPackPrice (source)R per 5 g
Pure Natural Options Creatine 100%500 gR221.88 (Knysna Health)R2.22
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate500 gR249.95 (Wellness Warehouse)R2.50
NPL Creatine Monohydrate500 gR299 (Takealot sale, undated PriceCheck snapshot)R2.99
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate, 2 x 500 g pack1 kgR599 (Takealot, undated PriceCheck snapshot)R3.00
Pro Nutrition Creatine Monohydrate300 gR199 (Takealot sale, undated PriceCheck snapshot)R3.32
Sally-Ann Creed Pure Creatine300 gR229 (Faithful to Nature)R3.82
Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine500 gR389 (Faithful to Nature)R3.89
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate500 gR399 (Clicks)R3.99
Phyto Pro Muscle Creatine500 gR410 (Faithful to Nature)R4.10
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine600 gR500 (ATP shop)R4.17
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate500 gR444.99 (Dis-Chem)R4.45
USN Pure Creatine300 gR279 to R299about R4.98

Why do prices vary so much for the same product?

Retailer gaps of 40-80% for the same product are common. NPL's 500 g tub is R539.99 at Dis-Chem (R5.40 per 5 g) and R299 on Takealot (R2.99). Nutritech 500 g is R249.95 at Wellness Warehouse and R399 at Clicks. USN Pure Creatine 410 g ranges from R269 at Faithful to Nature to R439.99 at Dis-Chem. Takealot sale prices change often, so treat them as a snapshot. See creatine at Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot.

Does tub size matter?

Yes. Smaller tubs cost more per dose: ATP's 250 g tub is R5.40 per 5 g versus R4.17 for the 600 g; Biogen 200 g is R6.00 versus R4.45 for 500 g; USN 200 g is R5.47 versus about R4.98 for 300 g. If you plan to use creatine daily, a 500 g or larger tub pays for itself within a few weeks.

Is the cheapest the best?

Not necessarily. Check that the label shows one ingredient (creatine monohydrate) and no sugar or flavour system. Avoid comparing against carbohydrate-creatine mixes (for example Evox Creatine Overload, NPL Anabolic Creatine or Biogen Creatine Ultra Load), which look cheap per gram but contain mostly other ingredients. Premium Creapure and micronised-brand creatines cost more: Foundation Creapure 400 g is R6.25 per 5 g, while Thorne Micronized 450 g on Takealot is about R19.98.

If you are drug-tested, pay more attention to batch testing than to price; see the best creatine in South Africa and how much creatine costs. A product that is not third-party tested is not necessarily unsafe, but contamination is the main risk for athletes.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gSweeteners
Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g500 gR222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.22not stated
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g500 gR249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.50not stated
NPL Creatine Monohydrate Powder 500 g500 gR299-R539.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R5.40None (unflavoured)
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17None
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)100R4.45None (unflavoured)
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g300 gR279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R4.98not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.