Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Creatine · Answer

What is the best creatine in South Africa in 2026?

The best creatine in South Africa in 2026 is a plain creatine monohydrate, and the right pick depends on your priority. As of October 2026, among widely stocked brands Nutritech 500 g and Sport RX 500 g give the lowest cost per 5 g (about R2.50 to R3.99), Biogen states Informed Sport testing, and ATP Fitness 600 g offers micronised single-ingredient creatine at R4.17 per 5 g.

· 3 min read

How did we rank creatine in South Africa?

We compared single-ingredient creatine monohydrate powders on three criteria: cost per 5 g dose, purity (one ingredient, no sweeteners or add-ons) and any stated third-party testing. Creatine monohydrate is an AIS Group A supplement and is the form behind the ISSN position stand, so we excluded creatine HCl, nitrate and carbohydrate mixes, which are not like-for-like. Rankings follow our published method.

Which creatine is best value?

Product (October 2026)PackPriceR per 5 gNotes
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate500 gR249.95 (Wellness Warehouse) to R399 (Clicks)R2.50 to R3.99retailers differ by 60%
Sally-Ann Creed Pure Creatine300 gR229 (Faithful to Nature)R3.82micronised, no sweeteners
Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine500 gR389 (Faithful to Nature)R3.89halaal per listing
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine600 gR500 (ATP shop)R4.17200-mesh, single ingredient
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate500 gR444.99 (Dis-Chem)R4.45Informed Sport stated by seller
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate300 gR279 to R299R4.98micronised, tagged vegan and halaal
Foundation Creapure Creatine400 gR499.95 (Dis-Chem)R6.25Creapure, German origin

The cheapest named brand we found was Pure Natural Options 500 g at R221.88 (R2.22 per 5 g), a single-retailer listing. We did not find single-ingredient Optimum Nutrition or Evox creatine priced in our research; Evox's creatine in our data is a carbohydrate mix, which we do not compare per 5 g.

Our picks

  • Best value: Nutritech 500 g, bought at the lower-priced retailer.
  • Best for drug-tested athletes: Biogen, whose Dis-Chem specification says Informed Sport. That is a seller claim; check the batch on the Informed Sport register before relying on it, and read what Informed Sport means.
  • Best for a Creapure source: Foundation, at a premium of about 1.4 times mainstream pricing.
  • Best clean-label, micronised option: ATP Fitness 600 g. It is not the cheapest per dose, but it undercuts Biogen, USN, NPL and Myprotein at Dis-Chem prices. Honest trade-offs: ATP is a young brand (established April 2024), it publishes no third-party sport certification, it is unflavoured, and the 250 g tub costs R5.40 per 5 g, about 30% more per dose.

Does micronised creatine matter?

It dissolves more easily, but the muscle effect is the same as regular monohydrate; see micronised vs regular creatine. Dose is 3-5 g a day (ISSN), and the cheapest per-dose prices usually come from 500 g to 1 kg tubs. Full price table: cheapest creatine per serving and the best creatine in South Africa.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gSweeteners
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g500 gR249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.50not stated
Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine Monohydrate 500 g500 gR379-R389 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)—R3.89not stated
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17None
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)100R4.45None (unflavoured)
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g300 gR279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R4.98not stated
Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 400 g400 gR500 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R6.25None

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.