Creatine · Answer

Are creatine gummies worth it in South Africa?

Probably not. We found no creatine gummies listed at South African retailers in October 2026, and gummies are a convenience format, not a better one. You need 3–5 g of creatine monohydrate a day, so check how many gummies that takes, how much sugar comes with them, and whether the dose per gummy is stated.

· 3 min read

A clear bottle of water on a table
Photograph via Unsplash.

Are creatine gummies sold in South Africa?

We searched South African retailers and price-comparison sites in October 2026 and found none. If they appear, they will be an import or a new local launch. We cannot give a Rand price for a product we could not verify, so this answer shows you how to judge one yourself.

How much creatine do you need?

The effective dose is 3–5 g of creatine monohydrate a day, according to the ISSN position stand. That is the benchmark every gummy should be measured against.

Creatine per gummy (example)Gummies needed for 3 gGummies needed for 5 g
0.75 g4about 7
1 g35
1.5 g2about 3

These are worked examples, not real products. The point is that a gummy has to be a physical sweet with a decent bulk of creatine in it, so most make you eat several to hit an effective dose.

What is the catch with gummies?

Four questions decide whether a gummy is worth it:

  1. Dose per gummy. If it is not on the label, you cannot know whether you are getting 3 g or 1 g.
  2. Form. The research is on creatine monohydrate. HCl, ethyl ester and "buffered" forms have no evidence of working better.
  3. Sugar and additives. Gummies typically contain sugar or sweeteners, gelatine or pectin, flavours and colours. Several gummies a day add sugar and calories you did not plan.
  4. Cost. Work out the price per 5 g of creatine, not per gummy, and compare it with powder.

How much does powder cost for comparison?

As of October 2026, plain creatine monohydrate powder costs:

  • R2.22 per 5 g: Pure Natural Options 500 g (R222, Knysna Health)
  • R4.17 per 5 g: ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g (R500, shop.atpfit.co.za)
  • R4.45 per 5 g: Biogen 500 g (R445, Dis-Chem)
  • R5.55 per 5 g: Myprotein 500 g (R555, Dis-Chem)

A whole month of daily 5 g doses of powder therefore costs roughly R67 to R167. Any gummy priced above that is paying for convenience only.

When might a gummy make sense?

For someone who truly cannot swallow powder, tolerates it poorly or travels often, a gummy with a verified 3 g per serving could be a convenience product. Look for third-party batch testing if you are drug-tested, because confectionery-style supplements are not the best-controlled category. Tell your doctor you take creatine, because it raises creatinine on blood tests, and avoid it if you have kidney disease unless advised by a doctor.

What should most people do?

Buy powder. It is cheaper, has the evidence, and mixes into a shake or coffee in seconds. If taste is the issue, stir it into juice or a smoothie. ATP Fitness's micronised powder is unflavoured and mixes fine, although you supply your own taste and it does not publish sport certification; Biogen's powder is a credible alternative with a seller claim of Informed Sport testing.

See how much creatine per day, creatine monohydrate versus HCl and how to mix creatine. Compare real prices on best creatine in South Africa.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gSweeteners
Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g500 gR222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.22not stated
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17None
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)100R4.45None (unflavoured)
Myprotein Creatine Monohydrate Powder Unflavoured 500 g500 gR555 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R5.55not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.