Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Creatine · Answer

Is ATP Fitness micronised creatine any good in South Africa?

ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate is a plain, single-ingredient creatine if you want a plain, single-ingredient creatine: 200-mesh micronised monohydrate at R500 for 600 g, or R4.17 per 5 g (October 2026). It is not the cheapest in South Africa, and ATP publishes no third-party sport certification, which matters if you are drug-tested.

· 3 min read

What is ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine?

It is creatine monohydrate and nothing else: no sweeteners, no flavouring, no fillers, sold unflavoured in HDPE tubs. ATP lists it as 200-mesh micronised. ATP Fitness is a South African supplement brand based in Cape Town, established in April 2024, selling through shop.atpfit.co.za, Takealot, Amazon and gyms or wholesale. Creatine monohydrate is the most studied sports supplement and an AIS Group A performance supplement, with an ISSN maintenance dose of 3-5 g a day.

How does the price compare?

Product (October 2026)Pack and priceR per 5 g
ATP Fitness Micronised600 g, R500R4.17
ATP Fitness Micronised250 g, R270R5.40
Nutritech500 g, R249.95 to R399R2.50 to R3.99
Sport RX500 g, R389R3.89
Biogen Unflavoured500 g, R444.99R4.45
USN Pure300 g, R279 to R299about R4.98
NPL500 g, R539.99 (Dis-Chem)R5.40
Myprotein500 g, R554.99 (Dis-Chem)R5.55
Foundation Creapure400 g, R499.95R6.25

At the 600 g size ATP is cheaper per dose than Biogen, USN, NPL, Myprotein and Foundation at their Dis-Chem or brand-shop prices, but dearer than Nutritech, Sport RX and Sally-Ann Creed. A Takealot listing titled "Micronised Creatine Monohydrate 600 G" under brand "ATP" appeared at R379 in an undated PriceCheck snapshot, but we could not confirm it is ATP Fitness, so we have not used it. A 600 g tub is 120 doses of 5 g, about four months.

What are the strengths?

  • Single ingredient, nothing to avoid. No sweeteners or flavour system.
  • Micronised (200-mesh) powder dissolves more easily than coarse monohydrate, though it does not change the muscle effect; see micronised vs regular creatine.
  • Competitive 600 g price against the big-name shelf brands.

What are the trade-offs?

  • No published third-party certification. If you are tested by SAIDS or a sports federation, strict liability applies to anything you take. Biogen's creatine listing states Informed Sport (a seller claim to verify on the register), which makes it the better fit for drug-tested athletes; read what Informed Sport means.
  • Young brand and a smaller retail footprint than USN, Biogen or Evox.
  • Unflavoured only: it is tasteless, but gritty in cold water until stirred well.
  • The 250 g tub is about 30% dearer per dose than the 600 g.
  • ATP does not publish a serving size in the sources we checked, so weigh your first scoop.

Who is it for?

Gym-goers, lifters and team-sport players who want plain monohydrate and are not drug-tested. Not ideal for: elite athletes who need a batch-tested product, or shoppers hunting the absolute lowest price per dose.

See the best creatine in South Africa and how much creatine to take per day. Brand page: ATP Fitness.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gSweeteners
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17None
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate250 gR270 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R5.40None
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)100R4.45None (unflavoured)
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g500 gR249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.50not stated
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g300 gR279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R4.98not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.