There is no single best shop, and stock varies by branch, so check before travelling. The main channels are:
| Where | What to expect | Example price (October 2026) |
|---|
| Dis-Chem (stores and online) | Biogen, NPL, USN, Primal, Foundation, Myprotein | Biogen 500 g R444.99; NPL 500 g R539.99; Foundation Creapure 400 g R499.95 |
| Clicks (stores and online) | Nutritech, USN and other mainstream brands | Nutritech 500 g R399 |
| Takealot (delivered) | Widest range, frequent sales | NPL 500 g R299 (was R399); Pro Nutrition 300 g R199 |
| Wellness Warehouse | Health-food retailer; Nutritech | Nutritech 500 g R249.95 |
| Faithful to Nature (online) | Sport RX, Sally-Ann Creed, Phyto Pro, Empyre, New Leaf | Sport RX 500 g R389; Sally-Ann Creed 300 g R229 |
| Brand shops | USN, Biogen, NPL and others online | USN Pure 300 g R279 to R299 |
| ATP Fitness | shop.atpfit.co.za, Takealot and via gyms | Micronised 600 g R500; 250 g R270 |
This list is neutral: we have not found one channel that is cheapest across the board. Dis-Chem prices come from its Living Fit pages, and Takealot and Clicks prices from price-comparison snapshots.
How do you compare prices properly?
Divide the price by the grams and multiply by 5. For example, Biogen 500 g at R444.99 is R4.45 per 5 g, while ATP Fitness 600 g at R500 is R4.17. Smaller tubs cost more per dose (ATP 250 g is R5.40). Read cheapest creatine per serving and creatine at Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot.
How do you avoid fake or poor-quality creatine?
- Buy from an authorised retailer or the brand's own shop, not an unnamed marketplace seller.
- Check the tub is sealed and shows an SA importer or manufacturer name and address, a batch number and a best-before date, which South African labelling law (R146) requires.
- The ingredient list should say creatine monohydrate only. See how to tell fake creatine.
- If you are drug-tested, prefer a batch-tested product and check the batch on the scheme's own register. Biogen's creatine listing states Informed Sport, which is a seller claim to verify.
Which tub size should you buy?
For daily use, 500 g or larger. Smaller tubs of 200-250 g suit a trial month. At 5 g a day, a 500 g tub lasts 100 days and a 600 g tub 120 days.
Do you need a prescription?
No. Creatine is sold as a supplement or foodstuff in South Africa. Some retail listings carry a statement that the product is an unregistered medicine not evaluated by SAHPRA, which reflects the current unfinished state of health-supplement regulation. It does not mean the product is illegal.
See the best creatine in South Africa for a ranked comparison.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | not stated |
| Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R379-R389 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R3.89 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.