Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Protein · Answer

Is Biogen a good supplement brand in South Africa?

Biogen is a well-known South African supplement brand: its own announcement says it began in 2004 and now spans whey, plant protein, gainers, creatine and wellness lines, stocked at Dis-Chem and its own shop. Pricing is mid to high (Iso Whey Premium 750 g R765; Whey Isolate 700 g R1 300, October 2026), and the 'Iso' naming can mislead.

· 3 min read

Biogen has roughly twenty years of history and wide retail presence. Here are the strengths and the trade-offs. Prices are October 2026.

What is Biogen's background?

Biogen's own 20-year announcement says the brand began in 2004, originally conceptualised as an in-house brand for Dis-Chem, and later became a nationally recognised range. It lists sponsorships including Ironman South Africa and several rugby teams, and says it voluntarily enrolled in Informed Sport, Informed Choice and Informed Protein programmes. We have not checked those registers, and current ownership is not stated (who owns Biogen).

What does Biogen sell and what does it cost?

ProductSize and priceProtein per servingNotes
Complete Whey875 g, R459.99 to R469.99not readablesucralose
Rage Impact Whey750 g, R52527 g (calculated from a stated 54 g double serving)—
Iso Whey Premium750 g, R76520.9 g per 30 gingredients include concentrate
Whey Isolate700 g, R1 300not readableR186 per 100 g
Grass Fed Whey750 g, R775not readabletype not stated
Plant Based Protein700 g, R40020 g per 40 gsucralose and steviol glycosides
Bulk 45/150 Mass Gainer4 kg, R60045.3 g per 226 gstimulant-free
Creatine Monohydrate500 g, R445n/aabout R4.45 per 5 g

What are Biogen's strengths?

  • Broad range and strong Dis-Chem presence, with shop prices matching Dis-Chem Living Fit.
  • Publishes some protein figures and, on several products, a stated Informed Choice logo.
  • Competitive creatine: R4.45 per 5 g, against USN Pure Creatine 410 g at R5.11 and ATP Micronised Creatine 600 g at R4.17 (Biogen vs USN creatine).

What are the trade-offs?

  • Naming. Despite its name, Iso Whey Premium lists concentrate in its ingredients, so it is a blend.
  • Price of isolate. The pure Whey Isolate at R186 per 100 g is the most expensive isolate we compared, against Primal at R93 and USN Isozero at R112.
  • Image-only labels. Several nutrition tables are images, so protein per serving is unreadable in text.
  • Sweeteners. Sucralose appears in Complete Whey and the plant protein.
  • Certification. Brand statements; verify batches on the certifier's register.

Is it better than the alternatives?

For whey value, USN BlueLab (about R28 per 30 g protein) is cheaper than Biogen Iso Whey Premium (about R44). Biogen is a reasonable pick when you shop at Dis-Chem and want its range of creatine, gainers and wellness products. See the best whey protein comparison and best creatine.

Who should see a professional?

If you have kidney disease, a milk allergy or are under 18, ask a doctor or dietitian before using whey or gainers.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderR per 5 gSweeteners
Biogen Iso Whey Premium (750 g)750 gR765 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10)—R43.92R102.00—not stated
Biogen Complete Whey (875 g)875 gR459.99-R469.99 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10)——R53.71—sucralose
Biogen Whey Isolate (700 g)700 gR1 300 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10)——R185.71—not stated
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)100——R4.45None (unflavoured)
Biogen Bulk 45/150 Mass Gainer (4 kg)4 kgR600 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10)—R22.45R15.00—not stated
Biogen Grass Fed Whey (750 g)750 gR775 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10)——R103.33—not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.