Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Creatine · Answer

Where can you buy creatine in Johannesburg and Pretoria?

In Johannesburg and Pretoria you can buy creatine at Dis-Chem (Biogen, NPL, Foundation, Myprotein), Clicks (Nutritech) and Faithful to Nature, plus online from Takealot, brand shops such as USN and ATP Fitness, and Wellness Warehouse. As of October 2026, creatine monohydrate costs about R2.22–R5.55 per 5 g, and retailer prices differ widely.

· 3 min read

Gauteng has the widest choice in the country. The retailers we checked in October 2026:

  • Dis-Chem (stores and the Living Fit online shop): Biogen, NPL, Primal, Foundation (Creapure), Myprotein and MuscleTech.
  • Clicks: Nutritech and other value brands.
  • Takealot: delivers across Gauteng and often has the sharpest sale prices.
  • Faithful to Nature and Wellness Warehouse: Sally-Ann Creed, Sport RX, Phyto Pro, Nutritech and Creapure options.
  • Brand shops that sell online: USN, Biogen and ATP Fitness (shop.atpfit.co.za).

Sportsmans Warehouse, independent supplement and gym shops operate across Joburg and Pretoria, but we have not verified specific stock or prices, so check with the shop before you drive.

What does creatine cost in Gauteng?

For plain monohydrate, per 5 g dose (October 2026):

ProductRetailerPriceR per 5 g
Pure Natural Options 500 gKnysna Health (online)R222R2.22
Nutritech 500 gWellness Warehousefrom R249.95R2.50
Sally-Ann Creed 300 gFaithful to NatureR229R3.82
ATP Fitness Micronised 600 gshop.atpfit.co.zaR500R4.17
Biogen 500 gDis-ChemR445R4.45
USN Pure Creatine 300 gUSN online shopR279–R299R4.98
Myprotein 500 gDis-ChemR555R5.55

The same product often has different prices at different retailers. Nutritech 500 g, for example, ranges from R249.95 to R399, and Clicks and Wellness Warehouse differ by up to about 60%. NPL 500 g has shown R299 on a Takealot sale against R539.99 at Dis-Chem. Compare before you buy; see Dis-Chem versus Clicks versus Takealot for creatine.

Which should you choose?

  • Cheapest per dose: online value brands, often under R3 per 5 g.
  • Easiest to collect today: your nearest Dis-Chem or Clicks branch. Biogen's 500 g is a sensible in-store choice at about R4.45 per 5 g, with a seller claim of Informed Sport testing.
  • Cleanest label with delivery: ATP Fitness is a single-ingredient, 200-mesh micronised creatine with no sweeteners. Honest trade-offs: it is a young brand, it is unflavoured, and it does not publish third-party sport certification.

How do you avoid fakes?

Buy from the retailer or the brand's own shop rather than unknown marketplace sellers. Check for an intact seal, a batch number, a best-before date and a South African importer or manufacturer address on the label (required under R146). See how to tell fake creatine.

What should you buy?

Plain creatine monohydrate, 3–5 g a day. Avoid blends if you are drug-tested; see creatine and drug tests. For ranked options, use our best creatine in South Africa comparison.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gSweeteners
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)100R4.45None (unflavoured)
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g500 gR249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.50not stated
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g300 gR279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R4.98not stated
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17None
Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 400 g400 gR500 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R6.25None
NPL Creatine Monohydrate Powder 500 g500 gR299-R539.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R5.40None (unflavoured)

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.