Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Pre-workout · Answer

What does proprietary blend mean on a pre-workout label?

A proprietary blend lists several ingredients under one brand name with a single combined weight, so the dose of each ingredient is hidden. You cannot tell whether caffeine, citrulline or beta-alanine are present at studied amounts. In South Africa, favour pre-workouts that print every dose, such as Biogen Premium Pre-Workout, and be wary of labels that say "high in stimulants" without a caffeine figure.

· 3 min read

What does "proprietary blend" mean on a pre-workout?

A proprietary blend groups ingredients under a trade name ("pump matrix", "energy complex") and shows only the combined weight of the group. Ingredients are normally listed from largest to smallest, but the label does not say whether the largest is 5 g or 50 mg. R146, the labelling regulation in force in South Africa as of October 2026, requires an ingredient list. We could not confirm a rule that forces per-ingredient doses on a sports-supplement label.

Why does a hidden dose matter?

  • Underdosing is invisible. Studied doses are caffeine 3–6 mg/kg (ISSN), citrulline malate 6–8 g, beta-alanine 4–6 g a day and creatine 3–5 g a day. A "pump matrix" that weighs 6 g in total cannot hold 6–8 g of citrulline malate plus anything else.
  • Caffeine stacking. Benefit can appear from about 2 mg/kg, and around 9 mg/kg adds side effects without extra benefit (ISSN). If the mg is hidden, you cannot add it to your coffee.
  • Anti-doping risk. SAIDS rates pre-workouts among the higher-risk product types, and a blend makes it harder to see what you are taking.

What do South African pre-workout labels show?

As published on retailer and brand pages we read in October 2026 (the physical tub may show more):

ProductDoses published online
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g (R399.99–R429.99, Dis-Chem Living Fit)Per Biogen's article: caffeine 150 mg, beta-alanine 3.5 g, citrulline malate 4 g, creatine 3 g, BCAAs 7 g, glutamine 2.5 g
USN Qhush Platinum Black 300 g (R489.99–R499, USN shop)Full doses on USN's global page (caffeine 300 mg, citrulline malate 6 g, beta-alanine 4 g); not confirmed for the South African 300 g tub
Biogen Rage Rampage 400 g (R539.99)Most doses per roughly 20 g serving; caffeine present, mg not stated
NPL Blackout 400 g (R599.99)"High in Stimulants"; no caffeine figure or doses on the Dis-Chem page
Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme 400 g (R249.95)Blends named, no amounts on the retailer page

Biogen's Informed Sport statement is a seller claim; we did not check the certificate.

How do you compare pre-workouts without the doses?

  1. Look for caffeine in mg per serving. If it is missing, assume a strong stimulant dose.
  2. Check the serving size, then compare doses with the studied ranges above.
  3. Count the total of stimulants from all sources, including coffee and fat burners.
  4. If a label only gives blends, contact the brand for the full panel before buying.
  5. Consider building your own from single ingredients, which makes every dose visible: see DIY pre-workout stacks.

Who should avoid pre-workouts altogether?

Under-18s, people who are pregnant, and anyone with high blood pressure, a heart-rhythm problem or kidney disease, or who takes regular medication, should speak to a doctor first (see pre-workout and blood pressure). Drug-tested athletes should read pre-workout banned substances before buying any multi-ingredient product. For ranked options, see best pre-workout in South Africa.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingSweeteners
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g600 gR399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)——not stated
USN Qhush Platinum Black Pre-Workout 300 g300 gR489.99-R499 (USN online shop, 2026-10)——Acesulfame-K and sucralose (global page)
Biogen Rage Rampage Pre-Workout 400 g400 gR540 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R27.00Sucralose
NPL Blackout Pre-Workout 400 g400 gR600 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R30.00Sucralose
Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme Super-C Orange 400 g400 gR250 (Dis-Chem Living Fit (Living Fit shop), 2026-10)——not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.