Yes, briefly. Caffeine blocks adenosine receptors and stimulates the sympathetic nervous system, which lifts heart rate and blood pressure. A 2011 meta-analysis (Mesas et al.) of trials in hypertensive people found, pooling five trials, that 200–300 mg of caffeine raised systolic pressure by about 8 mmHg and diastolic by about 6 mmHg. The rise appeared within an hour and lasted at least three hours. Healthy people may see a smaller bump, and exercise itself raises pressure too.
How much caffeine is in South African pre-workouts?
Many sellers do not publish it. As of October 2026 the figures we could find were:
| Product | Published caffeine |
|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout | 150 mg per serving (Biogen article) |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive | 150 mg headline figure; serving basis not stated |
| Cellucor C4 Original | 200 mg per scoop (US brand page) |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black | 300 mg per serving on USN's global page; not confirmed for the South African tub |
| NPL Blackout, Evox Alpha Surge, Biogen Rampage | Caffeine listed, mg not published |
A 2026 South African Medical Journal letter from UCT clinical pharmacologists raises concern about caffeine-containing pre-workouts, which is one more reason to know your number.
What else in a pre-workout affects blood pressure?
- Citrulline malate can add to the pressure-lowering effect of nitrates, PDE5 inhibitors such as sildenafil, and antihypertensives. This is relevant if you take those medicines. Details in citrulline malate dose for pumps.
- Other stimulants such as synephrine (bitter orange) and DMAA are classed by the AIS as high-risk, Group D ingredients. See is DMAA banned in South Africa.
- Stacking: coffee, energy drinks and fat burners add to the same load.
How can you lower the risk?
- Pick a product that prints caffeine in mg, and keep the total near 3 mg/kg (210 mg for 70 kg) rather than 6.
- Start with half a scoop. The Dis-Chem page for Biogen Rage Rampage suggests this for stimulant-sensitive users.
- Avoid taking it within about six hours of bed; see pre-workout and sleep.
- Use a stimulant-free product if you are sensitive, such as USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free.
When should you see a doctor?
Do not use a stimulant pre-workout without medical advice if you have hypertension, a heart-rhythm problem, kidney disease or an anxiety disorder, take regular medication, or are pregnant. Under-18s should avoid high-dose stimulant products. Stop and seek help for chest pain, a racing or irregular heartbeat, severe headache or fainting. Pre-workout is a performance product, not a treatment, and it does not replace blood-pressure care.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g | 600 g | R399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g | 210 g | R214-R232.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | not stated |
| USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g | 234 g | R309.95-R349.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |
| Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g | 195 g | R699-R752.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R25.10 | Sucralose and acesulfame potassium |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.