What is the best stimulant-free pre-workout?
Strip a pre-workout down to the ingredients with evidence and you get three: citrulline malate for the pump, beta-alanine for high-rep and 1–4 minute efforts, and creatine for repeated power. None of them contains a stimulant. Stimulant-free is useful for evening training, people sensitive to caffeine, and anyone who wants to avoid the contamination risk that tends to follow stimulant blends.
Which ready-made option exists in South Africa?
USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free (234 g) is the one stim-free tub we found, at R309.95–R349.99 (USN and Dis-Chem, October 2026; Dis-Chem lists it as Qhush Super Pump Stim Free). USN's shop page does not publish the doses, so you cannot check whether the citrulline or beta-alanine reaches a studied dose. We recommend asking USN for the panel or reading the tub in store before buying.
What do the single ingredients cost?
| Ingredient | Product | Price (October 2026) | Cost per dose |
|---|
| Citrulline malate | My Whey 250 g | R199 (Takealot) | R4.78 per 6 g |
| Citrulline malate | Muscle Works 180 g | R159 (Takealot) | R5.30 per 6 g |
| Citrulline malate | ATP Fitness 250 g | R280 (shop.atpfit.co.za) | R6.72 per 6 g |
| Citrulline malate | Biogen 250 g | R330 (Dis-Chem) | R7.92 per 6 g |
| Citrulline malate | NPL 240 g | R345 (Dis-Chem) | R8.62 per 6 g |
| Beta-alanine | My Whey 250 g | R195 (Takealot) | R2.50 per 3.2 g |
| Beta-alanine | USN 205 g | R160 (USN shop) | R2.50 per 3.2 g |
| Beta-alanine | ATP Fitness 200 g | R260 (shop.atpfit.co.za) | R4.16 per 3.2 g |
How should you use the stack?
- Citrulline malate: 6–8 g about 60 minutes before training. Evidence is emerging and mixed, with small effects on high-rep sets. See citrulline malate dose.
- Beta-alanine: 4–6 g a day in doses of 2 g or less, every day. It works by building up over weeks, so it does not have to be taken pre-workout. See how much beta-alanine per day.
- Creatine: 3–5 g a day. See how much creatine per day.
A 4 g dose of ATP beta-alanine costs about R5.20, against about R3.12 for My Whey.
What about ATP Fitness?
ATP Fitness sells pure Citrulline Malate and Beta-Alanine with no sweeteners or flavour. The clean label is a real strength if you want to know exactly what you are taking. The trade-offs: ATP's beta-alanine is the most expensive of those compared (R4.16 against R2.50 per 3.2 g), citrulline malate has a sour, flat taste when unflavoured, ATP is a young brand (established 2024), and it does not publish third-party sport certification. My Whey is a cheaper credible alternative on both ingredients.
Is stimulant-free automatically safe for drug-tested athletes?
No. A Dutch study found undeclared doping substances in 38% of products sold for muscle gain, energy and fat loss, and SAIDS does not certify any supplement. Single-ingredient products are generally lower risk than blends, but only batch testing lowers it further. See pre-workout and failed drug tests.
Who should speak to a doctor?
Citrulline can add to the effects of blood pressure medicines, nitrates and PDE5 inhibitors. Avoid beta-alanine in pregnancy and under 18. See also our rankings of the best citrulline and best beta-alanine in South Africa.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 6 g | R per 3.2 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g | 234 g | R309.95-R349.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | — | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate | 250 g | R280 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R6.72 | — | None |
| My Whey Pure Citrulline Malate 2:1 Powder 250 g | 250 g | R199 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R4.78 | — | not stated |
| Muscle Works Citrulline Malate 180 g | 180 g | R159 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R5.30 | — | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Beta-Alanine | 200 g | R260 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R4.16 | None |
| My Whey Pure Beta Alanine Powder 250 g | 250 g | R195 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | R2.50 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.