Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Pre-workout · Answer

Can pre-workout cause a failed drug test in South Africa?

Yes, it can. Caffeine is not prohibited, but stimulant-heavy and multi-ingredient pre-workouts carry the highest contamination risk, and some contain banned stimulants such as DMAA. Athletes are strictly liable for what is in their sample. If you are tested, choose a transparent product with batch testing you can verify, or use single ingredients.

· 3 min read

Can pre-workout cause a failed drug test?

Yes. The risk is real, even though most ingredients in a pre-workout are legal. Under the World Anti-Doping Code, applied in South Africa through SAIDS, you are strictly liable for any prohibited substance in your sample, whether it came from a contaminated tub, a mislabelled blend or something a coach recommended.

Which ingredients are a problem?

  • Caffeine: on WADA's Monitoring Program, not the Prohibited List. Legal.
  • DMAA (methylhexanamine): prohibited in competition since 2010. See is DMAA banned.
  • Other stimulants: the AIS puts DMAA, DMBA, synephrine (bitter orange) and ephedrine in Group D, banned or high contamination risk.
  • Undeclared ingredients: the main concern. A Dutch study of 66 supplements marketed for muscle gain, fat loss or energy found 38% contained undeclared doping substances, including stimulants such as DMAA, oxilofrine and BMPEA, steroids and even a beta-blocker. An earlier IOC-funded study found 14.8% of 634 supplements contained undeclared anabolic steroids.

SAIDS flags muscle-building, weight-loss and "booster" products as the highest-risk categories, and states that it does not test, certify or endorse any supplement.

What does third-party testing add?

Informed Sport tests every batch before release for more than 285 prohibited substances and runs blind retail checks, and you can look up the batch number. Informed Choice monitors by retail sampling (at least 12 lots a year) and suits general consumers more than elite athletes. Neither is endorsed by SAIDS or WADA, and neither guarantees zero risk. Only call a brand certified if it is on the scheme's register.

ProductTesting claim we foundStatus
Biogen Premium Pre-WorkoutInformed Sport, batch-tested by LGC (Biogen article)Seller claim; verify the batch
USN XTS HyperdriveInformed Choice and batch-tested (USN page)Seller claim; verify
NPL, Evox, Cellucor C4None stated on pages we readUnverified
ATP Fitness singlesNot publishedUnverified

What should a tested athlete do?

  1. Do you need it at all? SAIDS advises a food-first approach and a sports dietitian or physician.
  2. Choose single ingredients or a fully disclosed label. Avoid proprietary blends and "extreme" stimulant tubs.
  3. Check the batch on the register before use and keep the tub, receipt and a photo of the batch number.
  4. Use a lower-risk build. Coffee plus batch-tested creatine (Biogen's creatine carries an Informed Sport claim) avoids a stimulant blend completely. ATP Fitness's single-ingredient citrulline and beta-alanine are simple, but without published sport certification they suit recreational lifters better than tested athletes; Biogen's premium tub offers a verifiable alternative.
  5. Use the SAIDS medication check for medicines. It does not clear supplements.

What about school and club athletes?

Anti-doping rules apply at tested events such as Craven Week, and under-18s should not use pre-workout at all.

What if you tested positive?

Contact SAIDS and a sports lawyer or your federation immediately. Keep the tub. Proving contamination can reduce a sanction but rarely removes it.

More on testing: what Informed Sport certification means and how to check if a supplement is banned for sport.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingR per 5 gR per 6 gSweeteners
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g600 gR399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)————not stated
USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g210 gR214-R232.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R5.40——not stated
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)100—R4.45—None (unflavoured)
ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate250 gR280 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)———R6.72None

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.