Is there a best pre-workout for women?
Not in the sense of a different formula. The ingredients with evidence work the same way in women and men, and "pink" or "for her" tubs mostly change the label and flavour, not the science. What matters is the caffeine dose relative to body weight, transparent ingredient doses, and whether you are drug-tested or planning a pregnancy.
How much caffeine should women use?
The ISSN range is 3–6 mg of caffeine per kg of body weight, and benefits can start around 2 mg/kg.
| Body weight | 3 mg/kg | 6 mg/kg |
|---|
| 55 kg | 165 mg | 330 mg |
| 60 kg | 180 mg | 360 mg |
| 70 kg | 210 mg | 420 mg |
For lighter women, one scoop of a 150 mg product sits near the sweet spot. A 300 mg scoop (USN Qhush Platinum Black, global page) is above the 200 mg single dose that EFSA found raises no safety concern for adults, so start at half a scoop or choose a lower-dose tub.
Which options suit best?
As of October 2026:
- Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g (R399.99–R429.99, Dis-Chem): 150 mg caffeine and fully disclosed doses; Biogen states Informed Sport testing (seller claim). Its 3.5 g of beta-alanine in one serving will make most people tingle.
- USN XTS Hyperdrive 210 g (R214–R232.99): 150 mg headline caffeine at about R5.40–R5.90 a scoop (our calculation); USN cites Informed Choice (seller claim).
- USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g (R309.95–R349.99): stimulant-free; doses are not on the shop page.
- DIY singles: coffee plus citrulline malate (My Whey R4.78, ATP Fitness R6.72 per 6 g). See build your own pre-workout.
Do women need anything different?
- Creatine: women start with roughly 70–80% lower endogenous creatine stores than men (Smith-Ryan, 2021) and respond well to 3–5 g a day. It may be the most useful supplement here. See creatine for women.
- Iron and low energy: feeling flat before training can come from low iron, low energy availability or poor sleep, not a lack of stimulant. A doctor or dietitian can check before you reach for more caffeine.
- Cycle and sleep: if caffeine disturbs your sleep, stop 8–10 hours before bed.
Who should avoid pre-workout?
- Pregnant women: keep total caffeine to 200 mg a day (EFSA) and speak to your doctor or midwife before using any pre-workout, since these products are not designed for pregnancy.
- Breastfeeding: discuss with your doctor first.
- Under-18s, and anyone with heart rhythm problems, high blood pressure, anxiety disorders or on antidepressants or stimulant medicines.
Beta-alanine and citrulline have limited data in pregnancy.
What should you avoid?
- Proprietary blends that hide doses; see what a proprietary blend is.
- Fat-burning "thermo" pre-workouts, which tend to carry extra stimulants.
- Marketing claims about "toning" or "burning"; they are not supported.
ATP Fitness singles offer a clean-label DIY route, but they are unflavoured, dearer than My Whey on citrulline and carry no published sport certification. See the best pre-workout in South Africa comparison.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | R per 6 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g | 600 g | R399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | — | not stated |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g | 210 g | R214-R232.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | — | not stated |
| USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g | 234 g | R309.95-R349.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | — | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate | 250 g | R280 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R6.72 | None |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.