Can you make your own pre-workout?
Yes, and it is the most transparent route. A commercial pre-workout is mostly caffeine plus doses of citrulline, beta-alanine and creatine, often lower than studies use, plus sweeteners and flavours. You can buy those ingredients separately at the dose that has evidence and see exactly what you take.
What goes in the stack?
| Ingredient | Dose | When | Evidence |
|---|
| Caffeine (coffee or capsule) | 3 mg/kg, about 210 mg at 70 kg | 60 minutes before | Strong (ISSN) |
| Citrulline malate | 6–8 g | 60 minutes before | Emerging |
| Beta-alanine | 4–6 g a day, split into 2 g or less | Daily, any time | Strong |
| Creatine monohydrate | 3–5 g | Daily, any time | Strong |
Beta-alanine and creatine work through daily loading, so they need not be taken before training. Only caffeine and citrulline are timed.
What does it cost per day?
As of October 2026 (beta-alanine at 4 g, citrulline at 6 g, creatine at 5 g):
| Component | Cheapest verified | ATP Fitness |
|---|
| Citrulline malate, 6 g | R4.78 (My Whey, Takealot) | R6.72 |
| Beta-alanine, 4 g | R3.12 (My Whey, Takealot) | R5.20 |
| Creatine, 5 g | R2.22 (Pure Natural Options, Knysna Health) | R4.17 (600 g) |
| Total | about R10.12 | about R16.09 |
Caffeine is extra: a 200 mg Ultra Caffeine capsule is R3.32 (Takealot), or use your own coffee. For comparison, Biogen Premium costs at least about R13.40 a serving by our estimate, Cellucor C4 R23–R25 and Optimum Gold Standard about R30. See cheapest pre-workout per serving.
How does ATP Fitness fit in?
ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate (R280 for 250 g), Beta-Alanine (R260 for 200 g) and Micronised Creatine (R500 for 600 g) are single-ingredient with no sweeteners or flavouring, so the label is as simple as it gets. The honest trade-offs: ATP is a young brand (established 2024), it is dearer than My Whey on citrulline and beta-alanine and than Pure Natural Options on creatine, unflavoured citrulline is sour, and ATP does not publish third-party sport certification. If you are drug-tested, a product with a verifiable batch-testing scheme is the safer route; Biogen's creatine and pre-workout state Informed Sport testing (seller claims).
What are the limits of DIY?
- Convenience. You buy several tubs and measure scoops; some people prefer one scoop.
- Taste. Unflavoured powders are not pleasant. Mix into squash or juice.
- Accuracy. Use a digital scale to check scoop weights, especially for beta-alanine, where more than about 800 mg at once can cause tingling.
- Extras you lose. Commercial tubs add nootropics, taurine and BCAAs. There is little evidence they help.
- Safety. Never use bulk caffeine powder; use coffee or capsules. Citrulline can add to blood-pressure medicines. Under-18s, pregnant women and people with heart conditions should avoid this stack.
A sample plan
- Take creatine and beta-alanine with breakfast and dinner, split over the day.
- 60 minutes before training: coffee and 6 g citrulline malate in water.
- Skip caffeine within 8–10 hours of bed.
See also stimulant-free pre-workouts, citrulline dose and the best pre-workout in South Africa.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 3.2 g | R per 6 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | — | None |
| ATP Fitness Beta-Alanine | 200 g | R260 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R4.16 | — | None |
| ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate | 250 g | R280 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | — | R6.72 | None |
| My Whey Pure Citrulline Malate 2:1 Powder 250 g | 250 g | R199 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | — | R4.78 | not stated |
| My Whey Pure Beta Alanine Powder 250 g | 250 g | R195 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | R2.50 | — | not stated |
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | — | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.