Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Vitamins and minerals · Answer

Is sunshine enough for vitamin D in Cape Town?

In summer, usually yes if you spend time outdoors with some skin exposed, but in Cape Town's winter many people make little vitamin D. Cape Town lies at about 34 degrees south, so winter sun is low, days are short and people cover up. Indoor workers, older adults and people with darker skin are most likely to fall short and may want a supplement or a test.

· 3 min read

Why is winter in Cape Town different?

Vitamin D is made in the skin when UVB light strikes it. The NIH lists what limits that process: season, time of day, day length, cloud cover, smog, skin pigmentation and sunscreen. Cape Town sits at roughly 34 degrees south. In mid-winter the midday sun is lower, days are shorter, and the Western Cape's wet, cloudy weather and cold clothing reduce exposure further. In summer the situation is reversed, with strong UV and long days.

We did not find a Cape Town-specific measurement of winter vitamin D synthesis, so the seasonal effect described here is the general physics of UVB, not a local trial.

What do South African studies show?

  • A CANSA-funded study of healthy young Western Cape adults reported low rates of deficiency, which suggests many young, active people there do well.
  • A 2024 study of 1 244 Eastern Cape healthcare workers found 28.5% below 50 nmol/L, which shows that people with indoor jobs can be low.

Neither tells you your own level. See do South Africans need vitamin D in summer? for the summer picture.

Who is most at risk in Cape Town?

GroupWhy
Indoor workers and shift workersLittle midday daylight in any season
Older adultsSkin makes less vitamin D with age; RDA is 800 IU after 70
People with darker skinMore melanin means slower synthesis
People who cover most skin or use daily sunscreenSPF 8 or higher appears to block vitamin D-producing UVB
Indoor-gym athletes training before dawn or after darkAlmost no UVB

Window glass blocks UVB, so a sunny office desk does not count.

How much should you take, if you decide to?

The US recommended daily intake is 600 IU (15 µg), or 800 IU after age 70. The Endocrine Society's 2024 guideline advises healthy adults under 75 to meet that intake and not to take higher doses without a reason, nor to test routinely. A 1 000 IU daily tablet is a common, low-cost choice. As of October 2026 the price is R2.16 to R3.98 a day (R2.67 for Dis-Chem Gold). The EFSA upper limit for adults is 4 000 IU (100 µg) a day.

Should you test in winter?

Consider a test if you have risk factors, a bone condition, or symptoms your doctor links to low vitamin D. Levels below 30 nmol/L are associated with deficiency and 50 nmol/L or more is generally adequate (NIH). For what testing costs, see vitamin D testing in South Africa.

What is the practical plan?

  1. In summer, short, sensible outdoor time is fine; do not seek burns, because skin cancer risk in South Africa is real.
  2. In winter, if you are in a risk group, take 600 to 1 000 IU daily with a meal containing fat.
  3. If you have kidney disease, take thiazide diuretics or have a bone disease, speak to your doctor before starting.

Compare brands in the best vitamin D3 in South Africa and dosing in how much vitamin D to take.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingSweeteners
Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets60 tabletsR160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)60R2.67not stated
Now Foods Vitamin D3 and K2 120 vegicaps120 capsulesR276.75-R369 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)120R2.31not stated
BEET Goodness Vitamin D3 and K2 60 tablets60 tabletsR150 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)60R2.50not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.