Which fish oil gives the most EPA and DHA per rand?
The word "1000 mg" on a bottle is the oil weight, not the omega-3. What matters is EPA plus DHA per softgel. We worked out the cost of one gram of EPA plus DHA from label amounts (Dis-Chem Living Fit and Faithful to Nature, October 2026).
| Product | EPA plus DHA per softgel | Pack and price | Cost per gram EPA plus DHA |
|---|
| Biolife Fish Oil | 300 mg (180 plus 120) | 90, R195 | R7.22 |
| Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 | 750 mg (500 plus 250) | 90, R516.75 special (R689 regular) | R7.66 (R10.21 regular) |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme | 600 mg (510 plus 90) | 60, R289.99 | R8.06 |
| Natroceutics Omega 3 Pure and Wild | 700 mg (400 plus 300) | 60, R378 | R9.00 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Salmon Oil+ | 200 mg (120 plus 80) | 90, R189.99 | R10.55 |
| Solgar Wild Alaskan Full Spectrum | about 191 mg (382 per 2 softgels) | 120, R549 | about R23.95 |
Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega (R939) and Biomax Purest Omega 3 (R357 to R397) do not state EPA and DHA on the listings we read, and The Real Thing Mega Omega Supreme lists DHA (290 mg) but not EPA, so none of these can be ranked on value.
What should you look for besides price?
- Concentration: a higher-strength softgel means fewer capsules. Dis-Chem Gold Supreme and Now Ultra need about 1.3 to 1.7 softgels for 1 g, whereas Salmon Oil+ needs five.
- Source and shell: Natroceutics uses wild Alaskan pollock oil in fish-derived gelatine; Dis-Chem Gold uses bovine gelatine, and the Salmon Oil+ page states halaal and sugar-free.
- Freshness: oxidation (rancid, fishy burps) is the main quality issue. Keep the bottle cool and closed, and discard any that smells sharp.
- Third-party testing: we found no verified IFOS-type certificate for these products, so treat purity claims as brand statements.
How much should you take, and who needs it?
Reference intake is about 250 mg of EPA plus DHA a day for adults (EFSA). Athletes and people who rarely eat oily fish such as sardines, pilchards or salmon often take 1 to 2 g a day. Read how much omega-3 you should take before going higher. Evidence is moderate: omega-3 may reduce soreness and has cardiovascular and brain roles, but it does not build muscle in young adults (ISSN 2025). The AIS puts fish oil in Group B.
Who should speak to a doctor first?
Anyone on warfarin, aspirin or other blood thinners, with a fish allergy, or facing surgery, and anyone wanting more than about 2 g a day.
What if you want a vegan or alternative source?
See fish oil vs krill oil vs algae oil. For a wider ranking, use our best omega-3 page. The cheapest per-gram product is not always the best per-dose product, so match the softgel strength to the dose you actually plan to take.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R195 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 45 | R4.33 | not stated |
| Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R516.75-R689 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 90 | R5.74 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R290 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R9.67 | not stated |
| Natroceutics (Natro) Natroceutics Omega 3 Pure and Wild 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R378 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 40 | R9.45 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Salmon Oil+ 1000 mg 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R190 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 36 | R5.28 | not stated |
| Solgar Wild Alaskan Full Spectrum Omega 120 softgels | 120 softgels | R549 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R9.15 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.