Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Vitamins and minerals · Answer

How much omega-3 should you take?

Most healthy adults are covered by about 250 mg of EPA plus DHA a day (EFSA reference), which oily fish such as sardines, pilchards or salmon can supply. Athletes and people who eat little fish often use 1 to 2 g a day. EFSA regards up to 5 g a day as safe, but high doses can affect bleeding, so check with a doctor if you take blood thinners.

· 3 min read

How much EPA and DHA do different people take?

No official recommended intake exists for EPA plus DHA in the US, so guidance comes from several bodies. Per the NIH summary:

SituationReference amount of EPA plus DHA per day
Healthy adults250 mg (EFSA)
Pregnancy250 mg plus an extra 100 to 200 mg of DHA
Established coronary heart diseaseabout 1 g, preferably from oily fish (AHA)
Athletes and trial dosescommonly 1 to 2 g; trials range about 0.9 to 6 g
Raising the omega-3 index from 4.4% to 8%about 1.4 g a day extra (ISSN 2025)

Heart-disease and high-triglyceride doses should be set by a doctor. Pregnant women should discuss supplements with their clinician.

What does that mean in capsules and rand?

The label amount that counts is EPA plus DHA per softgel. For 1 g a day, using shelf labels in October 2026:

ProductSoftgels for 1 gCost per day
Biolife Fish Oil (300 mg each)about 3.3R7.22
Now Ultra Omega 3 (750 mg each)about 1.3R7.66 on special
Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme (600 mg each)about 1.7R8.06
Dis-Chem Gold Salmon Oil+ (200 mg each)5R10.55

At the 250 mg reference intake, the daily cost drops to roughly R1.80 to R2.60 on the same products. See the best omega-3 fish oil in South Africa for the full table.

Is there a safe upper limit?

No formal tolerable upper level is set. EFSA considers long-term intakes up to about 5 g a day of EPA plus DHA safe. The FDA regards supplements up to 5 g a day as safe but says labels should not recommend more than 2 g. Two large trials found that 4 g a day over several years slightly raised the risk of atrial fibrillation, so higher is not always better.

Who should check with a doctor?

  • Anyone on warfarin, aspirin or other blood thinners. Doses of 2 to 15 g a day can prolong bleeding time. Warfarin at 3 to 6 g a day usually did not change anticoagulation significantly in reviews, but doctors may monitor INR.
  • People having surgery, who may be asked to pause.
  • People with fish allergy, who should consider algae oil.
  • Under-18s, who should get omega-3 from food first.

Does more omega-3 build muscle or speed recovery?

Evidence is moderate and inconsistent. Omega-3 may reduce perceived soreness and may support strength gains with sufficient dose and duration, but the ISSN says it is unlikely to add muscle size in young adults. It may help athletes in contact sports who eat little oily fish, such as rugby players, though that is experimental.

How to take it

Take omega-3 with a meal that contains fat, and be consistent for weeks. If fishy burps bother you, split the dose, freeze softgels, or choose a more concentrated product. See also fish oil vs krill oil vs algae oil, omega-3 for heart and brain ageing and our best omega-3 page. The AIS lists fish oil in Group B.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingSweeteners
Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg 90 softgels90 softgelsR195 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)45R4.33not stated
Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 90 softgels90 softgelsR516.75-R689 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)90R5.74not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme 60 softgels60 softgelsR290 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)30R9.67not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Salmon Oil+ 1000 mg 90 softgels90 softgelsR190 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)36R5.28not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.