Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Vitamins and minerals · Answer

What is the best iron supplement in South Africa?

There is no single best iron supplement, and you should not buy one before a blood test. As of October 2026, Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength (24 mg elemental iron) is the cheapest we found at R2.29 to R4.50 a day; Metagenics Hemagenics (ferrous bisglycinate, 24 mg) costs about R7.08. Confirm dose and duration with your doctor.

· 3 min read

What iron supplements are on the South African shelf?

Our iron sample is thin: we found three products with stated iron amounts (Dis-Chem Living Fit and Faithful to Nature, October 2026). We did not find Floradix, Salus or Ferrimed listings with usable prices.

ProductIron per tabletPack and pricePrice per day
Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength, 120 tablets24 mg elemental iron (amino-acid chelate)R274.99R2.29
Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength, 30 tablets24 mg elemental ironR134.99R4.50
Metagenics Hemagenics Iron, 60 tablets24 mg (ferrous bisglycinate; elemental not specified)R424.90R7.08

The Dis-Chem Gold tablet also contains 347 µg folic acid, 1 µg B12 and 15 mg vitamin C. Its page states that it is an unregistered medicine not evaluated by SAHPRA. Metagenics adds 100 µg B12, 500 µg folate and 5 mg vitamin B6.

How do iron forms differ?

Ferrous sulphate and fumarate are the cheapest and best studied but are the most likely to cause constipation or nausea. Amino-acid chelates and bisglycinate are generally marketed as gentler; head-to-head evidence is limited, so treat the claim as a tolerance hint, not a guarantee. Always compare elemental iron, not the compound weight.

Should you take iron at all?

Only after a blood test. Supplementing when iron status is normal does not help and can harm, and everyone who feels tired does not need iron. The sports-medicine staging used for athletes is ferritin below 35 µg/L for depletion and below 20 µg/L for deficiency without anaemia. Therapeutic oral courses in athletes are often 60 to 120 mg of elemental iron under medical guidance, so a single 24 mg tablet may be too little or the wrong schedule. Read iron supplements for runners and do women need iron supplements?.

How should you take it?

  • Morning, on an empty stomach if tolerated, otherwise with a small snack; alternate-day dosing may improve absorption.
  • With vitamin C, away from tea, coffee, calcium and high-dose zinc.
  • Separate from levothyroxine and from quinolone or tetracycline antibiotics; proton-pump inhibitors reduce absorption.
  • Time it before or soon after exercise, before the post-exercise hepcidin rise (about 3 to 6 hours later).

Who should avoid it?

People with haemochromatosis or thalassaemia, and men or postmenopausal women without a diagnosed deficiency. Keep every iron product out of children's reach: accidental overdose is a leading poisoning risk in young children. The NIH upper level for adults is 45 mg a day.

What about iron in a multivitamin?

Multivitamins range from 1 mg of iron (Viridian High Five) to 10 mg (Dis-Chem Gold Supreme Active), which is enough to maintain but not to treat a deficiency. See the best multivitamin in South Africa. The AIS lists iron as a Group A medical supplement, used under clinical supervision. We found no third-party sport certification for these iron products.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingSweeteners
Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength value pack 120 coated tablets120 tabletsR275 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)120R2.29not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength 30 coated tablets30 tabletsR135 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)30R4.50not stated
Metagenics Hemagenics Iron 60 tablets60 tabletsR425 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)60R7.08not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.