Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Vitamins and minerals · Answer

What is the best magnesium supplement in South Africa?

There is no single best magnesium supplement; compare elemental magnesium per rand. As of October 2026, The Real Thing Tri-Mag is cheapest at about R2.64 per 100 mg elemental magnesium, then Flora Force Glycinate (about R2.82, on our reading of its label), Dis-Chem Gold Slow Release (R3.29) and Dis-Chem Gold Chelate (R3.37). Evidence for sleep or cramp benefits in well-fed people is weak.

· 3 min read

Which magnesium supplements give the most magnesium per rand?

Brand pages often quote the weight of the compound, not the elemental magnesium your body gets. We compared the four products that state elemental amounts. Prices are from Dis-Chem Living Fit and Faithful to Nature, October 2026.

ProductElemental Mg per unitPack and pricePrice per 100 mg elemental Mg
The Real Thing Tri-Mag (bisglycinate, citrate, malate)about 120 mg per capsule90 capsules, R285R2.64
Flora Force Magnesium Glycinate100 mg per capsule (our reading of the label)60 capsules, R169R2.82
Dis-Chem Gold Slow Release Magnesium (sulphate)68.4 mg per tablet60 tablets, R134.99R3.29 (R4.14 at the R169.99 category-page price)
Dis-Chem Gold Magnesium Chelate99 mg per tablet90 tablets, R299.99R3.37

New Leaf Magnesium Glycinate (R409) and PrimeSelf Magnesium Complex (R499) do not state elemental magnesium for every form, so we cannot rank them fairly.

Do the forms matter?

Somewhat, for tolerance. Oxide and sulphate are cheap but poorly absorbed and more likely to loosen stools; citrate, lactate, chloride and amino-acid chelates are better absorbed. Claims that glycinate is proven better for sleep go beyond the evidence. What matters most is elemental dose.

Our dose checks, using the labels:

  • Tri-Mag at the label dose of 2 capsules gives about 240 mg. That is just under the EFSA upper level of 250 mg for supplemental magnesium.
  • Dis-Chem Gold Chelate at 1 to 2 tablets gives 99 to 198 mg.
  • Dis-Chem Gold Slow Release at 2 to 3 tablets gives 137 to 205 mg, plus about 68 mg calcium per tablet.
  • Tri-Mag also contains 450 IU of vitamin D3 per capsule, so two capsules add 900 IU. Count that if you also take a vitamin D supplement.

Who actually benefits?

People with low dietary intake (few nuts, legumes, whole grains or greens), some heavy sweaters on restricted diets, and those with a diagnosed low level. The AIS puts magnesium in Group C, not advocated for athletes without a clinical reason, and evidence that extra magnesium relieves exercise cramps is weak. See does magnesium help sleep and cramps? and glycinate vs citrate.

What are the safety points?

  • Diarrhoea is the usual side effect at higher doses.
  • Anyone with kidney disease should avoid magnesium supplements unless prescribed, because the kidneys clear it.
  • Separate magnesium from tetracycline and quinolone antibiotics and from bisphosphonates by a few hours.

For the daily target see how much magnesium to take per day, and for the broader ranking visit our best magnesium page. We did not find third-party testing claims for any of these four products, and the pricing is for a single date, so check your retailer for specials.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingSweeteners
The Real Thing Tri-Mag 90 capsules90 capsulesR285 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)45R6.33not stated
Flora Force Magnesium Glycinate 60 capsules60 capsulesR169 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)30R5.63not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Slow Release Magnesium 60 coated tablets60 tabletsR134.99-R169.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)24R5.62not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Magnesium Chelate 90 coated tablets90 tabletsR300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)60R5.00not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.