Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Vitamins and minerals · Answer

How much magnesium should you take per day?

Adults need about 310 to 320 mg (women) or 400 to 420 mg (men) of magnesium a day from all sources, mostly food. Supplements typically add 100 to 350 mg of elemental magnesium. The US upper limit for supplemental magnesium is 350 mg a day and EFSA's is 250 mg. People with kidney disease should not supplement without medical advice.

· 3 min read

How much magnesium do adults need?

The NIH recommended dietary allowance (RDA), counting food and supplements together:

AgeMenWomen
19 to 30400 mg310 mg
31 and over420 mg320 mg

Good food sources are nuts, seeds, legumes, whole grains and leafy greens. Most people closing a gap need a supplement of well under the full RDA.

How much should a supplement provide?

Typical supplemental doses are 100 to 350 mg of elemental magnesium a day. Elemental magnesium is the magnesium itself, not the weight of the compound it is bound to. Two upper limits apply to supplemental magnesium (not food):

  • EFSA: 250 mg a day, set because of its laxative effect.
  • NIH / US: 350 mg a day for adults.

Stay at or below the lower figure unless a doctor directs otherwise. Doses above these limits mainly cause diarrhoea, nausea and cramping; very high doses can cause low blood pressure and irregular heartbeat.

What does that look like with South African products?

Using label amounts as of October 2026:

ProductElemental MgLabel doseDaily elemental Mg
Dis-Chem Gold Slow Release Magnesium68.4 mg per tablet2 to 3 tablets137 to 205 mg
Dis-Chem Gold Magnesium Chelate99 mg per tablet1 to 2 tablets99 to 198 mg
The Real Thing Tri-Magabout 120 mg per capsule2 capsulesabout 240 mg
Flora Force Magnesium Glycinate100 mg per capsule (our reading of the label)1 to 2 capsules100 to 200 mg

Tri-Mag's two-capsule dose is just under EFSA's limit, so avoid adding another magnesium product on top. See best magnesium in South Africa for price per 100 mg.

When is the best time to take it?

With food, to limit stomach upset. Evening dosing is common for preference; it is not proven to be better. Split larger doses across the day if your gut is sensitive.

Does it help with sleep or cramps?

In people with adequate intake, there is no good evidence that extra magnesium improves performance, sleep or exercise cramps, and the AIS places it in Group C. Supplements help when intake is low or a deficiency has been diagnosed. For the evidence in detail, see does magnesium help sleep and cramps? and for form differences magnesium glycinate vs citrate.

Who should be careful?

  • Kidney disease: magnesium is cleared by the kidneys, and it can build to dangerous levels in kidney failure.
  • Certain medicines: keep magnesium a few hours apart from tetracycline and quinolone antibiotics and from bisphosphonates.
  • Pregnancy, breastfeeding and under-18s: ask your doctor or dietitian before using supplements.

If you want to know whether you actually are low, a blood test is the starting point, though blood levels are an imperfect guide to body stores. Read also can you take too many vitamins?. Pricing and form comparisons are on our best magnesium page.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingSweeteners
Dis-Chem Gold Slow Release Magnesium 60 coated tablets60 tabletsR134.99-R169.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)24R5.62not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Magnesium Chelate 90 coated tablets90 tabletsR300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)60R5.00not stated
The Real Thing Tri-Mag 90 capsules90 capsulesR285 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)45R6.33not stated
Flora Force Magnesium Glycinate 60 capsules60 capsulesR169 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)30R5.63not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.