Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Vitamins and minerals · Answer

Can you overdose on vitamins and minerals?

Yes. Fat-soluble vitamins (A, D, E, K) and some minerals can build up and cause harm above their upper limits, and stacking a multivitamin, single supplements and fortified foods makes it easy. Examples: vitamin D above 4 000 IU a day, iron above 45 mg and supplemental zinc above 25 to 40 mg a day. Water-soluble vitamins are safer but not harmless.

· 3 min read

What are the upper limits?

Tolerable upper intake levels (ULs) are the highest daily amounts unlikely to cause harm in most adults. They apply to supplements and fortified foods together.

NutrientAdult ULMain risk above it
Vitamin D100 µg (4 000 IU), EFSA 2023 and NIHHigh blood calcium
Zinc25 mg (EFSA) or 40 mg (NIH)Copper deficiency, anaemia
Iron45 mg (NIH)Constipation, gut upset; overload in haemochromatosis
Magnesium (supplements only)250 mg (EFSA) or 350 mg (NIH)Diarrhoea
Vitamin C2 000 mg (NIH)Diarrhoea; possible stone risk in susceptible people
Vitamin B12none setLow toxicity

EFSA and US limits differ because they use different safety data and uncertainty factors, so we show both.

Why are fat-soluble vitamins riskier?

Vitamins A, D, E and K are stored in body fat and liver, so excess accumulates over weeks. Preformed vitamin A in excess during pregnancy can cause birth defects, and beta-carotene or high vitamin A supplements raised lung cancer risk in smokers in trials. Water-soluble vitamins are mostly excreted, but minerals and some vitamins still cause problems at high doses: long-term high zinc blocks copper absorption (doses of 50 mg or more over weeks), and very high vitamin C can upset the gut.

How does stacking happen in South Africa?

Many people combine a multivitamin, a magnesium tablet, a vitamin D and a pre-workout, each with additions. Two worked examples using shelf labels (October 2026):

  • Zinc: Solgar Formula VM-2000 gives 15 mg zinc per two tablets, and Solgar Zinc Picolinate gives 22 mg per tablet. Together that is 37 mg, above EFSA's 25 mg and close to the US 40 mg limit.
  • Vitamin D: The Real Thing Tri-Mag has 450 IU of D3 per capsule (900 IU for the label dose of two), a multivitamin may add 400 IU, and a stand-alone D3 adds 1 000 IU. That totals about 2 300 IU, still below 4 000 IU but double what most people intend.

What is the single most dangerous case?

Iron in children. Acute doses over about 20 mg per kg of body weight can cause corrosive damage to the gut, and about 60 mg per kg can cause multi-organ failure. Keep iron tablets and multivitamins with iron locked away from small children.

How can you avoid taking too much?

  • Add up every label, including sports drinks, pre-workouts, fortified cereals and "greens" powders.
  • Introduce one supplement at a time, with a clear reason.
  • Prefer products near 100% of daily needs. See do multivitamins work?.
  • Test before taking iron or high-dose vitamin D, and review annually.
  • Remember that unregistered products in South Africa are not dose-checked by SAHPRA, as of August 2026.

When should you see a doctor?

Speak to a doctor or dietitian if you are pregnant, have kidney or liver disease, take warfarin or other medicines, or have symptoms such as nausea, constant thirst, numb hands, severe tiredness or dark urine after starting a supplement. Read how much vitamin D to take, do you need a zinc supplement? and what is safe in pregnancy.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingSweeteners
Solgar Formula VM-2000 60 tablets60 tabletsR499 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)30R16.63mannitol, maltodextrin
Solgar Zinc Picolinate 22 mg 100 tablets100 tabletsR249 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)100R2.49not stated
The Real Thing Tri-Mag 90 capsules90 capsulesR285 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)45R6.33not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.