Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Vitamins and minerals · Answer

What is the best vitamin D3 supplement in South Africa?

For most adults the best vitamin D3 in South Africa is a plain 1 000 IU (25 µg) daily tablet, and price is the main difference between brands. As of October 2026, 1 000 IU products cost R2.16 to R3.98 a day, with Dis-Chem Gold D3 at R2.67 and Now Foods D3 and K2 at R2.31 on special. Added K2 is optional.

· 3 min read

How do South African vitamin D3 supplements compare?

Every product below supplies 1 000 IU (25 µg) of D3 per daily tablet or capsule, so the price gap reflects brand, K2 content and format. Prices are from Faithful to Nature and Dis-Chem Living Fit, October 2026.

ProductPack and priceK2 per dosePrice per day
New Leaf D3 and K2183 tablets, R395MK-7, amount not statedR2.16 (out of stock when checked)
Now Foods D3 and K2120 capsules, R276.75 special (R369 regular)MK-4, 45 µgR2.31 (R3.08 regular)
BEET Goodness D3 and K260 tablets, R150MK-7, 45 µgR2.50
Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D360 tablets, R160noneR2.67
Neogenesis Pure D3 plus K260 capsules, R239MK-7, 100 µgR3.98
Viridian D3 and K290 capsules, R739MK-7, 45 µgR8.21

What dose should you pick?

The US recommended daily intake is 600 IU (15 µg) up to age 70 and 800 IU (20 µg) after that. The EFSA tolerable upper level for adults is 4 000 IU (100 µg) a day. A 1 000 IU product sits comfortably between the two. The Endocrine Society's 2024 guideline does not recommend extra vitamin D for healthy adults under 75 beyond the recommended intake, and does not recommend routine blood testing. Higher doses belong with a doctor and a diagnosed deficiency.

Take it daily with a meal that contains some fat. Check your other products first: a multivitamin may add 200 to 400 IU, and The Real Thing Tri-Mag magnesium adds 450 IU per capsule (stacking is covered here).

Do you need the K2?

Probably not. Human evidence that K2 changes bone or artery outcomes alongside vitamin D is limited and inconsistent, and anyone on warfarin must not add it without medical advice. Because K2 combinations cost about the same as plain D3 in South Africa, taking one is a low-cost choice rather than a necessary one. Read the full explanation in do you need vitamin K2 with vitamin D3?

What else should you check?

  • Form: choose D3 (cholecalciferol), stated in IU or µg. Viridian lists µg only; we converted at 1 µg = 40 IU.
  • Source: Now Foods D3 is lanolin-derived, so not vegan; Neogenesis lists soy as an allergen.
  • Excipients: Dis-Chem Gold uses calcium carbonate in the tablet.
  • Certification: none of these listings publishes third-party sport testing in the sources we read.

Who is more likely to need one?

Indoor workers, people who cover up or use sunscreen daily, older adults, people with darker skin and anyone with a diagnosed deficiency. See whether South Africans need vitamin D in summer and how much vitamin D to take. If you have kidney disease, sarcoidosis or take thiazide diuretics, speak to your doctor first.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingSweeteners
Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets60 tabletsR160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)60R2.67not stated
Now Foods Vitamin D3 and K2 120 vegicaps120 capsulesR276.75-R369 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)120R2.31not stated
BEET Goodness Vitamin D3 and K2 60 tablets60 tabletsR150 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)60R2.50not stated
Neogenesis Pure D3 + K2 (1000 IU + 100 mcg) 60 capsules60 capsulesR239 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)60R3.98not stated
New Leaf D3 and K2 1000 IU 183 tablets183 tabletsR395 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)183R2.16not stated
Viridian Vitamin D3 and K2 90 capsules90 capsulesR739 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)90R8.21not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.