Who is at risk of low iron?
Iron deficiency is one of the most common nutrient problems in women. Higher risk groups include:
- women with heavy or long periods;
- endurance runners (foot-strike red-cell breakdown, gut losses), relevant for Comrades and Two Oceans training;
- vegetarians and vegans, because plant (non-haem) iron is less well absorbed;
- teenage girls in growth, and pregnant women (managed by the doctor);
- frequent blood donors.
Supplements correct deficiency (evidence: strong). When iron status is already normal they add no benefit and can do harm.
What should I test?
Tiredness alone does not prove low iron. Ask your doctor for ferritin, haemoglobin and transferrin saturation. Sport-medicine staging commonly used:
| Ferritin | Interpretation |
|---|
| below 35 µg/L | Iron depletion |
| below 20 µg/L | Iron-deficient, not yet anaemic |
| Low haemoglobin as well | Iron-deficiency anaemia |
Normal haemoglobin does not rule out low ferritin. Treatment depends on the cause, so heavy periods or persistent deficiency deserve a medical work-up.
How is iron usually taken?
Under medical guidance, oral therapy commonly uses 60 to 120 mg of elemental iron, and alternate-day morning dosing may improve absorption. Take it with vitamin C and away from tea, coffee, calcium and high-dose zinc. Hepcidin rises 3 to 6 hours after exercise and reduces absorption, so a morning dose before or soon after training is better than late evening. Common side effects are constipation and nausea. Iron can interact with levothyroxine, some antibiotics and reduced absorption with acid-suppressing medicines.
What does iron cost in South Africa?
As of October 2026:
| Product | Price | Per tablet |
|---|
| Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength, 120 tablets (24 mg elemental per tablet) | R275 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R2.29 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength, 30 tablets | R135 | R4.50 |
| Metagenics Hemagenics Iron, 60 tablets | R425 (Faithful to Nature) | R7.08 |
The Dis-Chem Gold page states it is an unregistered medicine not evaluated by SAHPRA. Multivitamins contain far less iron (for example Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin For Woman has about 4.5 mg per capsule), so they are not a substitute for treatment. Food sources include red meat, chicken liver (avoid in pregnancy because of vitamin A), sardines, lentils and fortified cereals; vitamin C-rich foods help absorption. See our guide to the best iron supplement in South Africa and iron for runners.
Risks of self-dosing
- Iron overload in haemochromatosis.
- Masking a cause of bleeding that needs investigation.
- Child poisoning: keep iron away from children.
- Gut symptoms that make people stop.
What about sports nutrition products?
Protein powders, creatine and collagen do nothing for iron status. If you also lift weights, see best supplements for women who lift.
When to see a doctor
Teenage girls and anyone with kidney disease or on regular medication should only take iron on a doctor's advice. See a doctor for fatigue with breathlessness, pale skin, hair shedding, restless legs, very heavy periods, or if you are pregnant. Do not self-start high-dose iron for more than a few weeks without retesting.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength value pack 120 coated tablets | 120 tablets | R275 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 120 | R2.29 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength 30 coated tablets | 30 tablets | R135 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R4.50 | not stated |
| Metagenics Hemagenics Iron 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R425 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R7.08 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin For Woman 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R133 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R4.43 | sorbitol 70% and glycerine in capsule fill |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.