2026 at a glance: ranked on R per gram of EPA+DHA, then capsules per 1 g dose
- Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg 90 softgels (Best value and cheapest): 300 mg EPA+DHA per softgel; R195 for 90 is R7.22 per gram, about R217 a month for 1 g a day (3–4 softgels).
- Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme 60 softgels (Best high-strength value): 600 mg EPA+DHA per softgel; R290 for 60 is R8.06 per gram, with 1.2 g in two softgels.
- Natroceutics (Natro) Natroceutics Omega 3 Pure and Wild 60 softgels (Best wild Alaskan): 700 mg EPA+DHA per softgel from wild Alaskan pollock; R378 for 60 is R9.00 per gram.
- Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 90 softgels (Best on special): 750 mg EPA+DHA per softgel; R516.75 special is R7.66 per gram (R10.21 at the regular R689).
- Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Salmon Oil+ 1000 mg 90 softgels (Lowest tub price): 200 mg EPA+DHA per softgel; R190 for 90 is R10.56 per gram, but 1 g needs five softgels.
- Solgar Wild Alaskan Full Spectrum Omega 120 softgels (Salmon oil, low dose): 382 mg EPA+DHA per two softgels; R549 for 120 is R23.95 per gram, about three times Biolife.
- The Real Thing Mega Omega Supreme 60 capsules (DHA-led formula): 290 mg DHA per capsule, EPA not stated; R339 for 60 (R11.30 per daily dose); R per gram EPA+DHA cannot be calculated.
- Biomax Purest Omega 3 Wild Alaskan Fish Oil 60 capsules (EPA and DHA not stated): Wild Alaskan fish oil, R357.30–R397 for 60; EPA and DHA not on the listing, so cannot be compared per gram.
- Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega 60 softgels (Premium import): Described as double strength but mg not on the listing; R939 for 60 is R31.30 per daily dose.
Comparison table
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners | Best for |
|---|
| Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R195 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 45 | R4.33 | not stated | Best value and cheapest |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R290 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R9.67 | not stated | Best high-strength value |
| Natroceutics (Natro) Natroceutics Omega 3 Pure and Wild 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R378 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 40 | R9.45 | not stated | Best wild Alaskan |
| Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R516.75-R689 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 90 | R5.74 | not stated | Best on special |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Salmon Oil+ 1000 mg 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R190 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 36 | R5.28 | not stated | Lowest tub price |
| Solgar Wild Alaskan Full Spectrum Omega 120 softgels | 120 softgels | R549 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R9.15 | not stated | Salmon oil, low dose |
| The Real Thing Mega Omega Supreme 60 capsules | 60 capsules | R339 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 30 | R11.30 | not stated | DHA-led formula |
| Biomax Purest Omega 3 Wild Alaskan Fish Oil 60 capsules | 60 capsules | R357.30-R397 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 30 | R13.23 | not stated | EPA and DHA not stated |
| Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R939 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 30 | R31.30 | not stated | Premium import |
Judge fish oil by EPA+DHA, not by '1000 mg'
A '1000 mg fish oil' capsule contains 1 000 mg of oil, of which only part is the omega-3s that matter: EPA and DHA. In our dataset that ranged from 200 mg to 750 mg per softgel.
| Product | EPA+DHA per softgel | Price | R per gram EPA+DHA |
|---|
| Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg | 300 mg | R195 / 90 | R7.22 |
| Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 | 750 mg | R516.75 special (R689) / 90 | R7.66 (R10.21) |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme | 600 mg | R289.99 / 60 | R8.06 |
| Natroceutics Pure and Wild | 700 mg | R378 / 60 | R9.00 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Salmon Oil+ | 200 mg | R189.99 / 90 | R10.56 |
| Solgar Wild Alaskan | 191 mg | R549 / 120 | R23.95 |
Formula: price / (softgels x mg EPA+DHA per softgel / 1 000).
How much omega-3 do you need?
- General health: EFSA considers 250 mg EPA+DHA a day adequate for healthy adults, which two portions of oily fish a week roughly provide.
- Athletes and higher targets: studies commonly use 1–2 g EPA+DHA a day. The ISSN's 2025 position stand estimates about 1.4 g a day of extra EPA+DHA is needed to raise a typical omega-3 index from 4.4% to the 8% associated with the lowest cardiovascular risk.
- Safety: EFSA concluded that supplemental EPA+DHA of up to 5 g a day raises no safety concerns for adults.
Pilchards, sardines, mackerel, snoek and salmon are good South African food sources; tinned pilchards are among the cheapest. If you eat oily fish twice a week, you may not need a supplement.
What omega-3 can and cannot do
Evidence is moderate, and the Australian Institute of Sport lists fish oil in Group B. In athletes, EPA and DHA may reduce perceived muscle soreness and support strength gains over weeks, and there is experimental interest in brain protection for contact sports such as rugby. The ISSN concluded fish oil is unlikely to build muscle in young adults. Effects on performance are inconsistent. Consistency over weeks matters more than timing; take it with a meal that contains fat.
Brand by brand
1. Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg 90 softgels (Best value and cheapest)
Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg gives 180 mg EPA and 120 mg DHA (300 mg combined) per softgel. At R195 for 90 softgels from Faithful to Nature, that is R7.22 per gram of EPA+DHA, the lowest figure in our dataset. The label dose of one to two softgels gives 300–600 mg a day, which covers general health; reaching 1 g needs three to four softgels, or about R217 a month. Choose it if price per gram matters more than capsule count.
Strengths: Lowest cost per gram of EPA+DHA (R7.22); Low tub price (R195); Flexible dosing
Trade-offs: Low strength: 3–4 softgels for 1 g EPA+DHA; Per-softgel EPA/DHA read from the listing's dose pairing; No third-party purity testing stated
2. Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme 60 softgels (Best high-strength value)
Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme is a high-EPA oil: 510 mg EPA and 90 mg DHA (600 mg combined) per softgel. Two softgels give 1.2 g EPA+DHA, matching common sports-nutrition doses, and at R289.99 for 60 it costs R8.06 per gram, about R290 a month at two a day. It is the best balance of cost and capsule count, and it is on shelf in every Dis-Chem. The oil is from the anchovy family, in bovine gelatine capsules. No third-party purity testing is stated.
Strengths: 1.2 g EPA+DHA in two softgels; R8.06 per gram at regular price; Available in every Dis-Chem
Trade-offs: Mostly EPA, little DHA; Bovine gelatine capsule; No third-party purity testing stated
3. Natroceutics (Natro) Natroceutics Omega 3 Pure and Wild 60 softgels (Best wild Alaskan)
Natroceutics Omega 3 Pure and Wild uses wild-caught Alaskan pollock oil, with 400 mg EPA and 300 mg DHA (700 mg combined) per softgel, in a fish-gelatine capsule. At R378 for 60 it costs R9.00 per gram. The fish-gelatine shell makes it a pescatarian-friendly choice for people who avoid bovine gelatine. A solid mid-priced option with a high dose per capsule. Label dose is one to two softgels a day, so one softgel gives 700 mg and two give 1.4 g, close to the ISSN's estimate for raising the omega-3 index. At 1.5 softgels a day the tub lasts about 40 days.
Strengths: 700 mg EPA+DHA per softgel; Fish-gelatine capsule (no bovine gelatine); Wild Alaskan source
Trade-offs: R9.00 per gram, about 25% more than Biolife; Only 60 softgels per tub
4. Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 90 softgels (Best on special)
Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 is the strongest per softgel here: 500 mg EPA and 250 mg DHA (750 mg combined). On special at R516.75 for 90 it costs R7.66 per gram, but at the regular R689 it rises to R10.21, which is why we rank it below Dis-Chem Gold Supreme and Natroceutics. The oil comes from anchovy and sardine sourced in Peru and Morocco. Buy it when it is discounted, or if you want the fewest capsules for a 1.5 g dose (two softgels).
Strengths: 750 mg EPA+DHA per softgel; 90 softgels per tub; Good EPA:DHA balance
Trade-offs: R10.21 per gram at regular price; High upfront cost (R689 regular)
5. Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Salmon Oil+ 1000 mg 90 softgels (Lowest tub price)
Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Salmon Oil+ is the cheapest tub at R189.99 for 90 softgels, but each softgel gives only 120 mg EPA and 80 mg DHA (200 mg combined). That is R10.56 per gram, and reaching 1 g EPA+DHA needs five softgels a day. The label dose of two to three softgels gives 400–600 mg. Good for a low general-health dose; poor value for higher targets. Despite the salmon name, the listing describes a blend of salmon, anchovy, herring and mackerel family oils, in a bovine gelatine capsule.
Strengths: Lowest tub price (R189.99); Halaal and sugar free per the listing
Trade-offs: Only 200 mg EPA+DHA per softgel; Five softgels for 1 g EPA+DHA; Mixed fish blend despite 'salmon' name
6. Solgar Wild Alaskan Full Spectrum Omega 120 softgels (Salmon oil, low dose)
Solgar Wild Alaskan Full Spectrum Omega is a whole salmon oil: two softgels give 2 400 mg salmon oil with 202 mg EPA and 180 mg DHA (382 mg combined). At R549 for 120 softgels it costs R23.95 per gram of EPA+DHA, about three times Biolife. You are paying for unconcentrated wild salmon oil. Fine for general health at 382 mg a day; expensive for anyone targeting 1–2 g. Total omega-3 is listed as 500 mg per two softgels, which includes fatty acids other than EPA and DHA.
Strengths: Wild Alaskan salmon oil; Well-known international brand; 120 softgels
Trade-offs: R23.95 per gram EPA+DHA; About five softgels for 1 g
7. The Real Thing Mega Omega Supreme 60 capsules (DHA-led formula)
The Real Thing Mega Omega Supreme lists 290 mg DHA per capsule and 1 600 mg total omega-3 per two-capsule dose, but does not state EPA. Without EPA we cannot calculate R per gram of EPA+DHA. At R339 for 60 capsules it costs R11.30 per daily dose. Ask the brand for the full EPA and DHA breakdown before comparing it on value. The 1 600 mg total omega-3 figure includes fatty acids other than EPA and DHA, so it is not comparable with the EPA+DHA figures on this page. The label dose is two capsules a day with food.
Strengths: DHA stated per capsule; Local brand, widely stocked at health shops
Trade-offs: EPA not stated on the listing; Cannot be compared per gram of EPA+DHA
8. Biomax Purest Omega 3 Wild Alaskan Fish Oil 60 capsules (EPA and DHA not stated)
Biomax Purest Omega 3 is described as wild Alaskan fish oil, R397 for 60 capsules on the product page (R357.30 in a category special). The listing does not state EPA or DHA per capsule, so we cannot compare it per gram. The suggested dose is one to three softgels. Read the tub for EPA+DHA before buying. At R397 for 60 it costs R13.23 per daily dose of two softgels. Until EPA and DHA are published, products that print them are easier to judge on value.
Strengths: Wild Alaskan source; Flexible 1–3 softgel dose
Trade-offs: EPA and DHA not on the listing; Price differs between product page and category listing
9. Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega 60 softgels (Premium import)
Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega is a well-known US brand using purified anchovy and sardine oil, described as double strength. The Faithful to Nature listing does not state EPA and DHA in mg, so we cannot calculate R per gram. At R939 for 60 softgels (two a day) it costs R31.30 per daily dose, the most expensive here. If you choose it, confirm the EPA+DHA figure on the box and compare it with Now Foods or Dis-Chem Gold Supreme. In South Africa it is sold mainly through health shops such as Faithful to Nature.
Strengths: Established international brand; Purified anchovy and sardine oil
Trade-offs: R31.30 per day, the highest here; EPA and DHA not stated on the SA listing
Worked example: monthly cost for 1 g EPA+DHA a day
| Product | Softgels per day for about 1 g | Cost per 30 days at exactly 1 g a day |
|---|
| Biolife Fish Oil | 3–4 | R217 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Supreme | 2 (gives 1.2 g) | R242 (R290 at the two-softgel, 1.2 g dose) |
| Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 | 1–2 | R230 on special, R306 regular |
| Natroceutics Pure and Wild | 1–2 | R270 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Salmon Oil+ | 5 | R317 |
| Solgar Wild Alaskan | about 5 | R719 |
Cost per 30 days = R per gram of EPA+DHA x 30. Softgel counts are rounded, so your real monthly spend depends on how many capsules you take.
Fish oil, heat and rancidity
Fish oil oxidises, and oxidation speeds up in heat. In a South African summer, keep the tub sealed in a cool cupboard, away from the stove and sunny windows, and never in a hot car. Refrigerating an opened tub is reasonable, especially in Durban or the Lowveld, but not essential if your kitchen stays cool. A strong rancid smell when you open the tub or bite a capsule means it has oxidised: replace it. Fishy burps are common and often settle when you take the capsules with a meal.
Safety, medication and anti-doping
- Blood thinners: high doses may increase bleeding tendency with warfarin, aspirin or other anticoagulants; speak to your doctor first.
- Surgery: tell your surgeon you take fish oil.
- Fish allergy: avoid fish oil; algae oil is a plant alternative.
- Pregnancy: speak to your doctor or midwife about dose.
- Children and teens: food first (oily fish such as pilchards); ask a doctor before giving a supplement.
Fish oil is low risk for doping, but SAIDS strict liability applies to tested athletes and SAIDS does not approve any product. None of the products here publishes Informed Sport certification. In South Africa, fish oil may be sold as a food or a Category D health supplement; as of August 2026 SAHPRA had registered no complementary medicines.
How we compared
- We listed every omega-3 fish oil with a dated October 2026 price from Faithful to Nature or Dis-Chem Living Fit.
- Primary measure: Rand per gram of combined EPA+DHA, from the EPA and DHA per softgel on the label.
- Where a price was a temporary special, we ranked on the regular shelf price and show both figures.
- Secondary measure: softgels needed for 1 g EPA+DHA a day.
- Products that do not state EPA and DHA were ranked below those that do, by cost per daily dose.
- Rankings follow our published method. ATP Fitness does not sell omega-3 and does not appear here.
Which should you choose?
- Lowest cost per gram: Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg. R7.22 per gram EPA+DHA.
- 1 g a day in two capsules: Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme. 1.2 g EPA+DHA per two softgels, R8.06 per gram.
- Fewest capsules: Now Foods Ultra Omega 3. 750 mg per softgel; best value when on special.
- No bovine gelatine: Natroceutics Omega 3 Pure and Wild. Fish-gelatine capsule, 700 mg EPA+DHA.
- Low dose for general health: Dis-Chem Gold Salmon Oil+. R189.99 tub, 400–600 mg a day at label dose.
FAQ
What is the best omega-3 supplement in South Africa?
On cost per gram of EPA+DHA, Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg (R195 for 90 softgels, R7.22 per gram) was the best value in October 2026. For a 1 g dose in two capsules, Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme (R8.06 per gram) is the better daily choice.
How much omega-3 should I take a day?
EFSA considers 250 mg EPA+DHA a day adequate for general health. Athletes and people aiming to raise their omega-3 index often use 1–2 g a day; the ISSN estimates about 1.4 g a day extra is needed to move a typical omega-3 index to 8%. EFSA found up to 5 g a day raises no safety concerns for adults.
Is 1000 mg fish oil the same as 1000 mg omega-3?
No. A 1000 mg fish oil softgel contains 1 000 mg of oil, of which EPA+DHA was only 200–750 mg in the products we checked. Always compare EPA plus DHA. Dis-Chem Gold Salmon Oil+ gives 200 mg per softgel, while Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 gives 750 mg.
Should fish oil be kept in the fridge in South Africa?
It is not essential, but heat speeds up rancidity. Keep tubs sealed in a cool, dark cupboard, never in a hot car, and consider the fridge for an opened tub in a hot, humid summer. A strong rancid smell means it is time to replace it.
Can I take fish oil with blood thinners?
Speak to your doctor first. High doses of omega-3 may increase bleeding tendency when combined with anticoagulants such as warfarin or antiplatelet medicines such as aspirin, and you should mention fish oil before any surgery. Lower doses taken with food are generally well tolerated.
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.