The research points that way. The body makes some creatine itself, but a lot of the creatine in an omnivore's muscle comes from meat, fish and, to a lesser degree, dairy. People who eat none of these begin with lower muscle creatine, so there is more room to fill. Research summarised in the ISSN position stand and later reviews finds vegetarians generally gain more from supplementation than meat eaters. For vegans and vegetarians who lift, play rugby or run sprints, creatine is among the best-supported supplements.
What dose should you take?
The same as everyone else: 3–5 g of creatine monohydrate a day. Loading (about 0.3 g/kg/day for 5–7 days) is optional. Plan on a slightly more noticeable water gain of 1–2 kg in the first weeks.
| Group | Starting stores | Typical approach |
|---|
| Omnivore | higher | 3–5 g a day |
| Vegetarian | lower | 3–5 g a day |
| Vegan | lowest | 3–5 g a day; response may be larger |
Does creatine help the brain as well?
There is emerging evidence. A 2024 meta-analysis of 16 randomised trials (492 adults) found creatine improved memory, with an effect size of 0.31, plus attention time and processing speed, but not overall cognition or executive function. The evidence is still developing. Do not take it for that reason alone.
Is creatine vegan?
The molecule is normally produced chemically rather than extracted from animals, which makes plain creatine monohydrate powder suitable for most vegetarians and vegans. We could not verify vegan certification for specific South African creatine products in October 2026, so read the label. Capsules and tablets can use gelatine, while unflavoured powders usually have no other ingredient. If vegan status matters to you, ask the brand or look for a vegan mark on the pack.
Which plain creatine powders are available in South Africa?
As of October 2026:
- Pure Natural Options 500 g: R222 (Knysna Health), R2.22 per 5 g
- Sally-Ann Creed 300 g: R229 (Faithful to Nature), R3.82 per 5 g, no sweeteners
- Sport RX 500 g: R389 (Faithful to Nature; R379 on Takealot in an undated PriceCheck snapshot), R3.89 per 5 g, Halaal per the retailer page
- ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g: R500 (shop.atpfit.co.za), R4.17 per 5 g
- Nutritech 500 g: from R249.95 (Wellness Warehouse), R2.50 per 5 g
ATP's pure creatine has no sweeteners or flavouring, but it does not publish vegan certification or third-party testing, and Sally-Ann Creed and Pure Natural Options are cheaper per dose.
What else should vegans watch?
Creatine does not replace a good plant-based diet. Vegan athletes should also check protein totals (1.4–2.0 g/kg a day), vitamin B12, iron and omega-3 intake with a registered dietitian. See our plant protein guide for protein options.
When to see a doctor
Speak to your doctor before starting creatine if you have kidney disease, take medicines that affect the kidneys, or are pregnant or breastfeeding. Creatine raises blood creatinine slightly, so tell your doctor you take it before routine blood tests.
For the dose and safety basics, read how much creatine per day and is creatine safe for women.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | not stated |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R229 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R3.82 | None |
| Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R379-R389 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R3.89 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.